Infomation and Facts about Heyfield

Heyfield is a small timber town at the southern extremity of the Snowy Mountains range.
In 1841 James McFarlane selected a pastoral run in the area. He named the district Hayfield after recording that it looked “like a field of waving corn”.
A settlement was developed when prospectors, headed for the goldfields, began to stop there. The first town blocks were auctioned in 1860.

Heyfield is a pleasant rural township with a population of 1700. It is situated on the Thomson River at the gateway to the High Country.
The town services the timber industry, a very large dairy farming community and thousands of tourists visiting Lake Glenmaggie and the vast expanses of natural bush and National Parks in the high country. Once the home of eight sawmills, it is now the major sawmilling centre of hardwoods in Victoria.

Heyfield is the southern gateway to the Alpine National Park and the pristine area reserved as the Avon Wilderness.
Apex Park an award winning Adventure Playground has barbecue’s and toilets for the visitors to take a rest break with children.
Sporting facilities include, playing fields, a large basketball stadium, an 18 hole golf course, tennis courts and a swimming pool.
Supermarkets, a General Store, Hotel, Motel and B&B accommodation, along with food outlets and specialty shops such as the hardware and farm supply shops.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Major Sponsor

Ladder - Sidebar

Seniors 2016
1 Sale City 68
2 Churchill 58
3 Heyfield 52
4 Yarram 46
5 Woodside 44
6 Rosedale 36
7 Cowwarr 20
8 Traralgon Tyers United 20
9 Glengarry 12
10 Gormandale 4