2011 SA Inter-Service Basketball Tournament

RAAF Base Edinburgh
Article by SA Defence Basketball
16 Sep 2011

The SA Inter-Service Basketball Tournament was held at RAAF Edinburgh over period Thu 15 to Fri 16 Sep 2011.

Men's teams representing 11 SQN, APS, Air Force, 7RAR & 16 AD, and 9th Brigade were entered. The addition of 7RAR was a magnificent boost to the competition creating our first tournament with five men's teams. The new Edinburgh two court facility made the timetable possible and was a leap forward in standard from the very recently demolished gym.

At end of the first round of games 9th Brigade led Air Force atop of the table. Army's strength was shown in the 7RAR & 16AD team placing third, leading APS and 11SQN. Having completed the round games on day one, day two was dedicated to finals. This being the first year the semi-final format was added.

Top placed 9th Brigade survived a close encounter with fourth placed APS to win 35-33. PTE Jason Morton leading the way with 11 points, ferocious on boards combining with LCPL Tosh Portakiewicz. In the other semi-final 2nd placed Air Force had an easier path to the grand thanks to quick transition offence. 7RAR & 16AD were still threatening with new players PTE Jarryd Bond, PTE Dean Notman and SIG Jason Bland pouring on the scoring.

9th Brigade and Air Force faced off in the grand-final and the quick transition gave the first quarter to Air Force 20-14. LS Nick Clancey for Air Force kept breaking away to amass 18 first half points while LAC Tom Amos (RNZAF) with his agility around basket keeping every defence busy all tournament. 9th Brigade consolidated though to win second quarter by one. Great interior play by 9th Brigades PTE Jason Morton and LCPL Tosh Portakiewicz brought Army within striking distance to 44-46 at the end of the third.

9th Brigade dominated both ends in the fourth quarter, while SIG Dan Aitchison remained hot in gaining himself a very economical 21 points from the perimeter, while LCPL Tosh Portakiewicz matched that inside wreaking havoc on the Air Force foul count. 9th Brigade in a great come from behind victory, defending the Inter-Service trophy for Army with a 67-55 win.

Tournament MVP honours were shared by PTE Jason Morton, 9th Brigade and LS Nick Clancey, Air Force.

Mr John Spooner was third inductee into the SADB Hall of Fame:
www.sadb.basketball.net.au > Our History > Hall of Fame

More photos from the tournament are available at path:
www.sadb.basketball.net.au > Gallery

The Australian Defence Basketball Association National Championships will be held at RAAF Williamtown, NSW over period Sat 26 Nov to Sun 04 Dec 2011. SADB members will be selected from trainings beginning October. For more information on SA Defence Basketball visit:
www.sadb.basketball.net.au > Join SADB

SA Defence Basketball is a member of the Australian Defence Basketball Association (ADBA)

2011 SA Inter-Service Team Lists

Inter-Service Title First Name Family Name #
11SQN Men CPL Scott Columbus 9
11SQN Men CPL Steven Cooke 18
11SQN Men CPL Travis Day 5
11SQN Men LAC Josh Gardner 40
11SQN Men CPL James Hannaford 7
11SQN Men CPL Adam Ingall 3
11SQN Men CPL Hong Le (Captain) 4
11SQN Men CPL Ryan Procter 6
7 RAR & 16 AD SIG Jason Bland 9
7 RAR & 16 AD PTE Jarryd Bond 4
7 RAR & 16 AD SIG Owen Brady 5
7 RAR & 16 AD PTE Joshua Dobrzynski 10
7 RAR & 16 AD LT Ross Murfett (Captain) 8
7 RAR & 16 AD PTE Dean Notman 6
9th Brigade SIG Daniel Aitchison 4
9th Brigade PTE Fernando Borges 8
9th Brigade LT Rob Gordon 10
9th Brigade PTE Jason Morton 11
9th Brigade LCPL Anthony Portakiewicz 12
9th Brigade CPL David Portakiewicz (Captain) 5
9th Brigade PTE Ben Walters 7
Air Force Men LAC Tom Amos 10
Air Force Men FLTLT Mark Bond (OIC) -
Air Force Men LS Nick Clancey 5
Air Force Men LAC Joel Geddes 9
Air Force Men LAC Andrew Mattner 8
Air Force Men CPL William McGregor 11
Air Force Men SGT Tim Muehlberg (Captain) 4
Air Force Men Mr John Spooner (Coach) -
Air Force Men LAC Daniel Thomas 7
Air Force Men LAC Jacob Walsh 12
APS Men Mr Ben Cheney 5
APS Men Mr Michael Docking (Captain) 8
APS Men Mr Patrick Jenkinson 4
APS Men Mr Ryan McKee 15
APS Men Mr Gary Noble 6
APS Men CPL John Vlahogenis 9
APS Men Mr Joel Zerna 13


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

SADB Notice Board

Open Court Time - All Welcome!
Tue & Thu 1600-1730 @ EDN
POC PTE Oliver Lipshus

SA Inter-Service Tournament 
Mid Aug 2021 @ EDN
ADFBA Championships
Late 2021 
@ Location TBA 

sadb.basketball.net.au > Join SADB


State Team 
State OIC CAPT Julian Brunero 
State Rep LCPL Kelly Spence 
State Mgr WO2 Ben Kellaway 

Inter-Service Womens Teams
Air Force - Vacant 
Army LCPL Kelly Spence 
Navy - Vacant 
Inter-Service Mens Teams 
Air Force  CPL Benjamin Wiencke 
Air Force 92WG SGT Hong Le 
Army Keswick WO2 David Portakiewicz 
Army Woodside WO2 Ben Kellaway 
Army Edinburgh CAPT Julian Brunero 
Navy - Vacant 

2019 Inter-Service Results

15-16 Aug 2019 @ RAAF Edinburgh, SA

Army (EDN) def Air Force 60-54

Justin Galbraith MVP Trophy
Hong Le