2011 Exhibition Game: SADB v VicDB in Mt Gambier

Icehouse, Mt Gambier, SA
Article by SA Defence Basketball

SA Defence Basketball (SADB) and Vic Defence Basketball (VicDB) played in inaugural border clash in Mt Gambier prior to the SEABL Mt Gambier Pioneers versus Ballarat Miners fixture at the Icehouse on Sat 06 Aug 11.

With neither SA or Vic having conducted their respective Inter-Service tournaments the wheels were slow to turn a first quarter with Vic nipping at SA's heels 7-11. In the second quarter Vic forced the issue in the paint being rewarded mostly at the free throw line, while SA geared up their offence to find the open shot for a 33-21 half-time lead.

AC Stewart Cartwright began to get going for Vic in assertive style, however the third quarter belonged to new SA arrival LS Nick Clancey who let loose on the break, going end to end for 14 of his 27 points. Meanwhile in the half court offence first year player LAC Andrew Mattner hoisted his three bombs for the night to close for a 62-40 margin at end of third.

Four Mt Gambier Basketball Association players were made honourary members of the SADB and VicDB teams for the evening Jak Harrap, Teagan Brown, Matt Markiewicz and Jackson Trappett; the additions helping to round-out both lineups and quality additions they proved, pinning 16 of Vic's and 10 of SA's points to the board.

The pace picked up another notch in the 4th quarter as both teams began to sort out their transition systems, with Vic narrowing the final margin in an 87-60 SA victory.

The Mt Gambier RSL sponsored the game with perpetual trophy and invitation for Defence Basketball to return in 2012.

Many thanks to the Mt Gambier Pioneers for hosting the game especially Mr Gavin Male, Media Manager; who co-ordinated the event, marketing, scoretable and referees.

SGT Muehlberg, Captain SADB hoped that the successful format might be replicated across the Australian Defence Basketball Association (ADBA) with other states meeting in rivalry at their respective borders promoting both Defence Jobs and the ADBA in Exhibition Games like this in addition to the current Inter-Service format held within states.

VicDB represented by:
4 CFN Matt Guarino
5 Mr Jak Harrap
6 CPL Scott Eaton
7 Mr Jason Hirsch
10 CPL Luke Burton
13 PTE Tony Gibson
14 AC Stewart Cartwright
15 Mr Teagan Brown

SADB represented by:
4 SGT Tim Muehlberg (Captain)
5 CPL Dave Portakiewicz
6 LS Nick Clancey
7 LAC Andrew Mattner
9 Mr Dean Hill (Vice-Captain)
10 LT Rob Gordon
12 Mr Matt Markiewicz
13 Mr Jackson Trappett
Coach Mr John Spooner

More information available at:

Photos available at:


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

SADB Notice Board

Open Court Time - All Welcome!
Tue & Thu 1600-1730 @ EDN
POC PTE Nathan Botha 

SA Inter-Service Tournament 
Mid Aug 2020 @ EDN
ADFBA Championships
Late 2020 
@ Location TBA 

sadb.basketball.net.au > Join SADB

Team POCs

Inter-Service Teams

Air Force Women LACW Tiane Hoffmann 
Navy Men & Women AB Glenn Monteath
Air Force 92WG SGT Hong Le
Air Force Men FSGT Tim Muehlberg
Army Keswick SGT Scott Kernot
Army Woodside LT Marcell Blackie
Army Women LT Leah Swain
Army Edinburgh LT Julian Brunero 

2019 Inter-Service Results

15-16 Aug 2019 @ RAAF Edinburgh, SA

Army (EDN) def Air Force 60-54

Justin Galbraith MVP Trophy
Hong Le