2010 SA Inter-Service Basketball Tournament

SA Inter-Service Basketball Competition 2010 – Army shoots down Air Force
South Australian Defence Basketball (SADB) held its annual Inter-Service Tournament on August 19th at the RAAF Base Edinburgh.  2010 saw six teams enter into the competition with four men’s teams and two women’s teams from all services taking part.  The women’s competition welcomed the return of two full teams again in 2010 and in the men’s competition Army, Air Force, APS and the Techos teams battled. Returning for the second year the Techos team hailing from within elements of 10 and 11 Squadron from 92 Wing were well prepared having earlier competed at the South Australian Police & Emergency Services Games.

The two women’s sides matched up against each other twice during the competition which saw the ADF Blue team and the ADF Red Team split the wins.. LACW Michelle Heisley top scored with 18 for the ADF Red Team in the 35-28 win in the first match. SGT Penny Rogers (Army) top scored for the ADF Blue Team in the second match with 14.

The men’s teams proved to be extremely well matched and the two finalists were not decided up until the final match.  The standings at the end of the round robin competition saw Army top of the table with Air Force Men second, the Techos third and APS fourth.  The Techos team narrowly missed out on making their first grand final appearance after a 31-40 loss to Air Force in their last game. 

The men’s grand final saw Army match up against Air Force for the second year running in what was expected to be an excellent game.  Army took the honours during the round robin competition however Air Force attempted to alter their game play going into the final in an attempt to counter the strong outside shooting supplied by the Portakiewicz brothers, Anthony and David and the tough inside presence of PTE Jason Morton.  The tactics of Air Force seemed to be paying off at half time as they took the lead 20-15 on the back an excellent second quarter in which SGT Tim Muehlberg racked up a solid 14.  Army clawed back early in the third quarter due to an excellent team effort, however another solid quarter by the Air Force Men saw them extend their lead slightly, heading into the final quarter 33-27.  In the fourth quarter Army put on an incredible team display, racking up 17 points to 7, whilst forcing the Air Force Men into foul trouble. 

After the dust settled, Army Men, made up of members from 10/27 Royal South Australia Regiment, 16 Air Defence Regiment, 2nd Platoon Headquarters – A Company and 144 Signal Squadron, had taken the title away from Air Force for the first time in five years with a hard fought and well deserved 44-40 final score.  High scorers for the game were CPL Dave Portakiewicz, PTE Anthony Portakiewicz, and PTE Jason Morton with 10 points each for Army and Sergeant Tim Muehlberg with 22 points for Air Force. 2011 will welcome the arrival of 7 RAR at Edinburgh, and it expected that the Army teams will only continue to gain strength, leaving Air Force with some work to do in the next 12 months to reclaim the title. 

This years “Sheralee Gormley Trophy” for the Most Valuable women’s player went to LACW Michelle Hiesley and the “Justin Galbraith Trophy” for the Most Valuable men’s player to PTE Anthony Portakiewicz. 

SADB is about to commence training towards the ADBA Combined Services Competition, which is to be held at RAAF Williamtown over period 27 Nov – 4 Dec 10.  For more information on SADB please contact SGT Tim Muehlberg on 08 738 94095 or via email at timothy.muehlberg@defence.gov.au
For all latest SADB news visit www.sadb.basketball.net.au
www.sadb.basketball.net.au > Gallery

www.sadb.basketball.net.au > Our History > Inter-Service Results


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

SADB Notice Board

Open Court Time - All Welcome!
Tue & Thu 1600-1730 @ EDN
POC PTE Oliver Lipshus

SA Inter-Service Tournament 
Mid Aug 2021 @ EDN
ADFBA Championships
Late 2021 
@ Location TBA 

sadb.basketball.net.au > Join SADB


State Team 
State OIC CAPT Julian Brunero 
State Rep LCPL Kelly Spence 
State Mgr WO2 Ben Kellaway 

Inter-Service Womens Teams
Air Force - Vacant 
Army LCPL Kelly Spence 
Navy - Vacant 
Inter-Service Mens Teams 
Air Force  CPL Benjamin Wiencke 
Air Force 92WG SGT Hong Le 
Army Keswick WO2 David Portakiewicz 
Army Woodside WO2 Ben Kellaway 
Army Edinburgh CAPT Julian Brunero 
Navy - Vacant 

2019 Inter-Service Results

15-16 Aug 2019 @ RAAF Edinburgh, SA

Army (EDN) def Air Force 60-54

Justin Galbraith MVP Trophy
Hong Le