SANFL triumphs again over VFL

The decade long winless drought against the SANFL continued today for the Peter Jackson VFL, suffering a 22-point defeat. 

Despite the VFL opening an 11-point lead early in the final term, the visitors stormed home with six of the last seven goals of the game to claim the win 18.10 118 to 14.12 96. 

Williamstown's Adam Marcon was awarded the Frank Johnson Medal for his tireless work around the ground, amassing 29 disposals in the VFL loss. 

It was the VFL that opened the scoring for the afternoon through Julian Rowe, but the VFL then struggled to contain Tim McIntyre who sparked the SANFL with two goals in five minutes to grab the lead. Leigh Ryswyk made it three in a row, but a late snap by Adam Cockie ensured the VFL were back within five points at quarter time. 

SANFL extended its lead to 17 points early in the second with the first two majors to Michael Wundke, but a few positional moves saw the VFL fight back. Rowe was strong on the lead up forward, while his Port teammates Chris Cain and Shane Valenti started to rack up possessions up forward. All three goaled to give the VFL the lead, and Scott Sherlock saw it out to seven points nearing half time.  

Nick Lower was gaining possessions at will, with 19 up to half time, but the home side were unable to hold the advantage at the main break, as Ian Callinan showcased his skills on both sides of the body with two late goals to see SANFL lead by four points. 

Neither team could gain the early advantage in the third, till Cain again came into the match, firstly up forward with a goal, then in huge middle with numerous forward entries. Marcon was steady in the middle for the VFL but missed opportunities early cost the home side. The SANFL was deadly with its run off half back, opening up their forward line for Steven Summerton and Wundke to kick two each, and suddenly the lead was out to 20 points entering time on. 

The VFL finished the term with three of the last four goals to cut the margin back to nine points at the final change. 

The VFL looked as if it would break its drought that dated back to 2002, with three goals in six minutes to open the final term.  Scott Clouston, Lower and Josh Scipione giving the home side an 11-point lead.

But as had been the case all afternoon, the SANFL got a run of goals, with the likes of Zane Kirkwood, Joel Cross and James Boyd continuing to push them forward. It was a list of former VFL players that came back to haunt the competition with Callinan (3 goals), Wundke (5) and Brett Eddy (3) adding four in a row to quickly see the SANFL not only back in the lead, but out by 15 points. A pair to Jonathon Beech ended the contest with the visitors home by 22 points. 

Kirkwood was presented the Fos Williams Medal for the best on ground for the SANFL. 

For the VFL, Marcon was a four quarter performer, along with Lower who finished with 32 disposals, Cain (30 & 8 marks), Cam Lockwood in defence(22), the captain Sam Pleming (23) and Nick Meese in the ruck with 39 hit outs. 

Cain, Rowe, Valenti and Scipione kicked two each for the VFL.


VFL                 2.3       6.7       10.12              14.12 96


SANFL           3.2       7.5       12.9                18.10 118 



Goals: Julian Rowe, Josh Scipione, Shane Valenti, Scott Clouston, Chris Cain 2, Nick Lower, Scott Sherlock, Adam Cockie, Sam Pleming 1 

Best: Adam Marcon (Frank Johnson Medallist), Nick Lower, Chris Cain, Cam Lockwood, Sam Pleming, Nick Meese  


Goals: Michael Wundke 5, Brett Eddy, Ian Callinan 3,Summerton, Beech, McIntyre 2, Ryswyk 1


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.