The 2016 Momase Regional Championships in Lae


The 2016 Momase Regional Championships in Lae; were a success with the doubt due to weather laid to rest. 

Under 18 Men Division and Below

In the under 14 division Lency Okl and Kenice Koko gave the fans a good showing with a close finish in the 100m; Lency completed the double in the 200m. Stewart Hanana rounded the top 3 positions in both the 100m & 200m dashes for Team Lae. Busu Secondary’s Ezekiel Nawas and Haro Sayama led the under 16 and under 18 age divisions of the 100m while Lency Okl and David Kasion crossed the finish line in 25.3s and 23.5s respectively. The under 14 400m dash top two positions were secured by Team Oro with Joe Doruba and Pemas Baisa placing first and second in 55.6s and 56.2 seconds. The under 16 and 18 finals of the 400m resulted in Lae’s Jukka Linba and Lloyd Sina taking first place in 52.2s and 53.5 seconds.

Robert Jack and Kinsley Agembo took the first place finishes in the under 16 and under 18 800m run. Second place finisher in the 800m under 18  Harold Kerahu finished in 4:30.3 to earn the gold medal in the 1500m run for Team Oro, while Lae’s Katu Lanza finished in 4:47.2 seconds to win the U16 race.

Katu also won the 3000m U18 beating out Benjamin Yuda for first place and winning the 5000m. Ishmael Gelam of Lae won the open division 3000m  in 10:10.6s ahead of Clint Hanj.

Open Division

2016 Melanesian Championship 400m winner in the U18 div Emmanuel Wanga was pipped in a photo finish  in the open division of the 400m by Benjamin Aliel with both athletes clocking50.0 seconds. Wanga did earn first place  in the open 200m against Bradley Embampa in 22.8 seconds. Joe Matmat tied for first in the open men’s 100m with Wena Kalin in 11.1 seconds. Lae based Wesley Logorava won the open men’s 300m in 34.8 seconds ahead of Benjamin Aliel.

Lae based Steven Ray, Jeremiah Moat, Malakai Paul and Dwayne Malaki all earned gold medals in their respective age groups in the horizontal and vertical jumps. Team Oro athletes showed the same type of dominance in the javelin, discus and shot put; Stewart Hanana, Frank Gurumo, Peter Bray and Luke Rifu were amonst the winners. 

Under 18 Women Division and Below

In the under 14 division Raylyne Malmal and Samantha duplicated the men’s race with a similar finish in 100m while Dika Matang won the 200m dash for Lae.

The 400m dash final was dominated by Team Oro in all 7 places with Janet Teo winning the event. Team Lae’s Agnes Warsil and Leonie Beu finished first in the under 16 and under 18 100m both in 13.4 seconds; Leonie also won the women’s 200m in a time of 27.1s.

The under 16 and 18 finals of the 400m resulted in Yahking Pali of Bulolo and Edina Erick of Wampit crossing the line first in 64.8 and 65.1 seconds, young Temalyn Oivo of Team Oro won the open division of the 400m.

Momon Ezeliel of Lae, Elizabeth Hoem of Oro, Finella Bekoba, Janet Theo, Olga Karis and Sheena Ogaita were all winners of middle and long distance races for their respective teams.

Open Division 

Young Temahlin Oivo of Team Oro won the open division of the 100m, 400m and places second in the 200m. Lae’s Esther Simon was the winner of the open women’s 800m in 2:30.9 with Lode Pali also from Lae placing second. Raylene Kanam won the open women’s 300m ahead of Simon and Grue Caleb of Lae.  Lode Pali of Lae and Yolandy Sinuga both earned gold medals in the open division of 1500m and 3000m.

All of the contesting javelin throwers were from Oro with Edith Ami leading the group in a throw of 18.25m. The women’s discus was contested by all Lae athletes with Heidi Jung placing above Alvina Petrus and Dulcie Keneth.


Hosting Province Coach - Allan Akia "I am satisfied with the way many of our athletes competed; our pre meet athlete identification approach seemed to have paid off. 

Special Thanks

Coach Allan Akia

Coach Kupun Wisil

Coach Mong Tavol

Coach Peter Bray

Volunteer Officials

Athletics PNG INC. Secretary Philip Rehder

Joshua Peniel (photography)

Wesley Logorava

Tuna Tine

Robson Yinambe

And many others…..


Athletics PNG

Tel: (712) 90002


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.





Major Sponsor