Melanesian Championships selections

Melanesian Championships selections



In releasing the names Secretary Philip Rehder said that the aim was to send a strong team but to give priority to the home based athletes and the top junior athletes with an eye on the future. “We need to provide some incentives and motivation for those athletes who did well for us at the Pacific Games and our priority is those  athletes with proven ability who have been training seriously for six months or more “ said Rehder. We also have some good junior athletes  based overseas like Miriam Peni and Afure Adah who are an important part of our squad for the future and these championships are an opportunity for these athletes to spend time with the team.


The athletes selected are

Sprints and hurdles

Nazmie Lee Marai

Ephraim Lerkin

Wesley Logorava

Peniel Joshua

Charles Livuan

Toea Wisil

Miriam Peni

Afure Adah

Donna Koniel


Middle and long distance

George Yamak

Mary Kua

Jenny Albert


Jumps and throws

Steven Ray

Robson Yinambe

Annie Topal

Debono Paraka

Jacklyn Travertz

Rehder said that APNG wanted to advise these athletes now of their selection so they can begin planning their travel and that further athletes will be added to the team following the national championship. However that will be too late for anyone who doesn’t already have a passport. Funding is a consideration as always and as a result of the difficult climate we currently face, we will not be selecting large numbers of developmental athletes. Only the very best up and coming junior athletes are being considered”. Rehder also stressed the importance of competition results being submitted to Athletics PNG. Monica Henao has been appointed Team manageress and an announcement will be made soon regarding coaches.

The Melanesian Championships was first held in Fiji in 2001 and was held in Lae in 2003 and 2005 before the Oceania Athletic association changed its competition structure and abandoned the sub regional concept. However this competition is being re introduced this year and the 2016 event will include athletes from Fiji, PNG, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Norfolk Island, Regional Australia, Tuvalu, New Caledonia and Kiribati.


Athletics PNG

Tel: (712) 90002




Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.





Major Sponsor