Armadale too strong for Subiaco

Report by Callum George

Photo by Jonny Warrington


Armadale Soccer Club have come out on top in a physical battle with Subiaco at Rosalie Park on Saturday, with two second half goals securing them an important three NPLWA points.

The match started off in reasonably slow fashion, with Subiaco trying to control possession.

Armadale looked to hit the hosts on the counter attack with front men Papa Kpatar and Joshua Tumoe causing some serious headaches for the Subiaco defence.

The best chance of the half came when the electrifying forwards linked up brilliantly down the right before teeing up Kyle King inside the box. King was denied by a fantastic save from Subiaco custodian Ryan Montgomery, ensuring both sides went into the break scoreless.

The second half started with more action than the first as Subiaco midfielder Jordan Candlish tried to replicate his 30 yard screamer from last week, this time sending it well wide of the near post.

The early scare appeared to kick Armadale into gear as they began to dominate play.

On the hour mark Armadale looked to have rewarded themselves for their dominance as Tumoe sent in a ball from the left for Kpatar, who headed his attempt just inches over the crossbar.

It was only moments later that the visitors took the lead as Tumoe made his way into the box from his preferred left wing and drove one into the top right corner, leaving Ryan Montgomery with no chance.

Momentum had well and truly swung into the favour of the visitors and they doubled their lead fifteen minutes later when midfielder Charlie Kenna drilled one home into the bottom corner.

With ten minutes to go Jordan Pavett latched on to the ball and broke through the Subiaco defence leaving him one on one with Montgomery, who was drawn into a clumsy foul leaving the referee with no choice but to point to the penalty spot.

Pavett stepped up himself and stung one to the right of Montgomery which rattled off the post, but it didn’t matter as Armadale ran out comfortable two-nil winners in the end.

Victorious Armadale coach John O'Reilly was thrilled with his side collecting three points away from home and was proud of the football they played.

“Today we went out with the intention of winning and being the aggressor and that’s exactly what we did”, he said.

Subiaco coach Ian McMurray expressed his disappointment in his side after the game and the lack of desire his players had.

“I don’t think we were in the game, they wanted it, they dominated us at times”, he said.


Subiaco AFC 0

Armadale Soccer Club 2 (Tumoe 63’, Kenna 78’)

Saturday, May 6, 2017

Rosalie Park

Kick-off: 3:00pm

Referee: Stuart Muldoon

Assistant Referees: Ammar Timour, Alex Best


Subiaco AFC:
1. Ryan MONTGOMERY (C), 4. Alex RANDELL, 5. Dylan ANDREWS, 8. Mike LAWSON (67’ 15. Henock BUTSHIRE), 9. Rory FEELY (76’ 10. Owen COATES), 11. Carlin FEELY (67’ 6. Ignacio DOMINGUEZ), 12. Nathan SMITH, 13. Jordan CANDLISH, 17. Alex CASTIELLO, 18. David PERICH, 19. Stefan HILL,

Unused Substitutes:  7. John LOCKHART, 21. Nic SPECA

Yellow Cards: Dylan ANDREWS 30’, Alex RANDELL 84’

Red Cards: Nil


Armadale Soccer Club:

1. Michael CRAGGS, 3. Jake SARDELIC, 4. Nathan COSTELLO, 7. Charlie KENNA, 8. Joran PAVETT, 9.Kyle KING, 10. Papa KPATAR (15. Jackson BEALEY 76’), 11. Dannie RICHMAN (20. Shavden PASSALACQUA 88’), 12. Joshua TUMOE ( 17. James ATKINS 70’), 14. David ANNALL, 19. Beau RAHIM
Unused Substitutes: 21. George FESTA, 30. Alex RADONICH

Yellow Cards: Jordan PAVETT 49’, Charlie Kenna 74’,

Red Cards: Nil


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.



Major Sponsors

Notice Board