In 1965 a Primary School a teacher named Ray Willett was appointed to teach at the Mooroopna Primary School. He was immediately signed by the Mooroopna Cats and was to become a sensational player in the GVL.

The tall, agile Willett arrived with a great football reputation as he had played 20 games with the Collingwood Magpies under Phonse Kyne and Bob Rose.  In 1962 he won the Bendigo League Best and Fairest award the Mitchelsen Medal as well as being the League's top goal kicker.

The people of Mooroopna had high hopes that their new player would perform well and Ray didn't let them down.  GVL ruckmen soon came to understand that they were up against a true champion as he palmed the ball with great accuracy and kicked with brilliance.  He came to the attention of the umpires who were also impressed with the well mannered good looking gentleman and at the end of the 1965 season he won enough umpires votes to win the Morrison Medal as the Leagues best player.

Ray then coached the Cats in 1966 and 1967 and scored his second Morrison Medal in 1967.

As a player under coach Jim Reid in 1968 he completed his GVL career with his third Morrison, becoming only the second player to win three medals.  Ray Willett's four years at Mooroopna also included his wonderful performances as a GVFL Country Championship player under the coaching of Jim Clark.

Never has a player been so impressive over four years of GVL football.  He then transferred to Corowa where he came second in the Ovens and Murray best and Fairest Morris Medal.

Ray Willett was an immensely talented player, a thorough gentleman and was the pride of Mooroopna.

A true giant of country football who well earned his induction in the Goulburn Valley Football League Hall of Fame. 

Senior Ladder

2019 GOTAFE GVL Seniors
1 Kyabram 72
2 Echuca 64
3 Shepparton 48
4 Rochester 40
5 Seymour 38
6 Tatura 36
7 Benalla 36
8 Mansfield 24
9 Euroa 24
10 Shepparton United 20
11 Mooroopna 16
12 Shepparton Swans 14

Reserves Ladder

2019 GOTAFE GVL Reserves
1 Seymour 64
2 Rochester 64
3 Echuca 60
4 Euroa 56
5 Shepparton Swans 36
6 Shepparton United 36
7 Tatura 32
8 Benalla 24
9 Shepparton 20
10 Mansfield 20
11 Kyabram 12
12 Mooroopna 8

U18 Ladder

1 Echuca 72
2 Seymour 56
3 Mooroopna 52
4 Rochester 48
5 Kyabram 48
6 Shepparton 46
7 Shepparton United 36
8 Mansfield 34
9 Benalla 16
10 Euroa 12
11 Shepparton Swans 8
12 Tatura 4