Bert Bargeus Medal

Bert Bargeus

Bert Bargeus has a long, distinguished history with SA Country Basketball. Below is a list of Bert's roles and achievements over many years:

  • Eastern Hills Basketball Association Secretary, 1996-1999
  • SA Country State Team Manager - U16/U18 Aust. National Junior Championships, 1996-2002
  • SA Country Council Executive - Regional Supervisor, 1998-1999
  • SA Country State Manager - Country Cup 1998-2002
  • Basketball Administrator Of the Year SA, 2003
  • Australian Junior Camp AIS - Manager, 2003-2004
  • SA Men's Team Official/Statistician - U20 Aust. National Junior Championships
  • NBL Adelaide 36ers Statistician, 2002-2008
  • Australian of the Year nominee, 2009 & 2010
  • SA Country Executive Officer, 2000-2010
  • SA Country Life Membership, 2010
  • Basketball SA Board Member/Commissioner,  2006-Present
  • NBL Adelaide 36ers Game Commissioner, 2008-Present
  • Country Cup Director, 2003-Present
  • SA Country President, 2011-2016

The Bert Bargeus medal - inaugurated in 2010 - is awarded to both the male and female elite athletes of the year within the SA Country program. Athletes who win this award demonstrate all of the qualities we strive for all our athletes to have; Commitment, Hard work, High achieving, Teamwork and Integriy.

 Past winners

Year Female Athlete Association   Male Athlete Association
2010 Kristen Macaskill Yorke Valley   Matthew Markiewicz Mount Gambier
2011 Elle Eleftheriadis Riverland   Jack Vigar Whyalla
2012 Georgia Green Mount Gambier   Joel Foster Light
2013 Samantha Lubcke Murray Bridge   Sam Stafford Mount Gambier
2014 Demi Skinner Port Lincoln   Ky Matthews-Hampton Strathalbyn
2015 Sarah Elsworthy Yorke Valley   Brad Rathjen Mount Gambier
2016 Georgia Thomson Yorke Valley   Daniel Stock Great Southern
2017 Isabella Stratford Mount Gambier   Sebastian Bald Eastern Hills
2018 Taylah Levy Great Southern   Matthew Black Mount Gambier

Major Sponsor

Basketball Australia News

Association Links - Navbar