05:07PM, Fri 23 January 2009

Halcones UV Xalapa goes to the Final Four of the FIBA Americas League:

Halcones UV Xalapa goes to the Final Four of the FIBA Americas League:

XALAPA (FIBA Americas League) - Halcones UV Xalapa defeated Soles de Mexicali 86-78 to enter the Final Four of the FIBA Americas League. Halcones join Universo/BRB, Minas Tenis Clubé and Biguá in the final round to be played from February 6-8.

Mexican center Gustavo Ayon was key for Halcones with 27 points, 7 rebounds and 2 blocks. Guard Abdul Mills netted 20 points and Victor Mariscal 12.

The first quarter was intense and with a low percentage of field goals made for both teams. James Penny led Soles with 9 points as they won the first ten minutes 17-16.

The offense by Halcones started to warm up in the second quarter starting with a three pointer by Victor Mariscal, that along with Gustavo Ayon in the paint, Abdul Mills and Victor Avila gave Halcones a good lead. A three point play by Ayon and a long range basket by Mills finally gave them a 39-32 halftime lead.

Ayón had 11 points, Mariscal 8, Mills and Ávila 7 each at halftime. James Penny led with 11 points while Anthony Lever-Pedroza had 8 and Horacio Llamas 6.

Halcones had a comfortable lead in the third quarter after Mills made a basket to have a 51-36 lead with 7:45 left, but Soles head coach, Ivan Deniz, said to his players to remain calm and were cutting the lead as Lever-Pedroza made two free throws with 3.7 seconds left to leave the third quarter down 59-56.

A three pointer by Lever-Pedroza started the final quarter to tie the game at 59. Halcones attacked with Ayón, Hickerson and Truitt while Lever-Pedroza kept Soles close. Finally Soles lost many balls while Mills and Ayon sealed the game from the free throw line.

Anthony Lever-Pedroza led Soles with 25 points while Horacio Llamas had 20 and James Penny 15.

In the two editions of the FIBA Americas League a Mexican team has been in the Final Four, being the first Soles de Mexicali who exactly one year ago eliminated Halcones de Xalapa in the quarterfinals to enter the final stage of the league.

Share this Sports Log: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Post to MySpace!
Comments Comments   View All View all   Report Inappropriate Content Report

Comments

Comments
No comments have been posted yet
alert

You must login to myFIBA to post comments or create your own blog

Click here to register or login to myFIBA

 
Recent Entries
03:04PM, Tue 4 August 2009
 
04:43AM, Thu 16 April 2009
 
05:44PM, Wed 1 April 2009
 
04:37PM, Tue 17 February 2009
 
04:19PM, Mon 9 February 2009
 
07:06AM, Sun 18 January 2009
 
06:10PM, Wed 14 January 2009
 
11:57AM, Fri 9 January 2009
 
02:38PM, Sun 28 December 2008
 
09:49AM, Thu 25 December 2008
 
03:30PM, Tue 23 December 2008
 
06:05AM, Sat 6 December 2008
 
04:29AM, Thu 16 October 2008
 
04:49PM, Thu 25 September 2008
 
04:06PM, Fri 22 August 2008
 
09:45AM, Thu 7 August 2008
 
07:36AM, Wed 9 July 2008
 
03:07AM, Sun 6 July 2008