2017 US Nationals - San Diego

The USAFL (United States Australian Football League) Nationals descended on San Diego on a sunny October weekend, with teams from over 40 cities arriving to contend for the title across numerous divisions. It was a huge two days of Aussie Rules football action with 40 men’s and 13 women’s teams competing across 7 divisions, and the tournament welcomed over 1000 participants.

The Calgary Kookaburras are a regular feature in the USAFL National Championships, the biggest Footy tournament outside of Australia. There are 4 men’s divisions and 1-2 women’s divisions.  Teams from all over the USA come to play in this exciting event.  The Kookas won the whole tournament in 2008 and won Division 2 in 2015. Most recently causing a storm in San Diego in October 2017, narrowly missing out on making it to the Finals with a defeat by the Denver Bulldogs.


The annual tradition of Mad Monday did not disappoint and the men's and women's teams showed San Diego how the Calgarians can party!


The 2018 US Nationals location has been confirmed as Racine, Wisconsin, during the weekend of October 12-14, and the Kookas will be expecting to enter another team into Division 1 (approx. 25 players).


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


Register Now

Photo Gallery