Bulldogs win 4 Flags

Division 1 Seniors
Wandin 16.16.112 defeated Healesville 6.12.48
Healesville looked to be up and about early as they slotted the first goal of the game but it was really from there on that Wandin got the game on their terms. Wandin’s hard running and spread over the ground was just too much for Healesville to combat, Wandin booted 5 opening term goals while Healesville’s first goal of the game was their only one for the quarter which saw Wandin lead by 26 points. The 2nd term was a little more of a contest but Wandin still had more of the ball and arguably could have been further ahead than their 34 point lead at half-time after a 3.5 to 2.3 2nd term. Although Healesville did trail they did battle manfully in the 3rd quarter but for all their effort Wandin was still able to maintain a handy lead after booting 4.1 to 3.2 to go into the final quarter with a 39 point buffer. Wandin had threatened all day to run away with this clash and that’s exactly what they did in the last quarter as they held Healesville to just 3 behinds while they finished the day off in great fashion booting 4.4 to win by a very hefty 64 points to become undefeated Premiers for 2015. Wandin best players: “AFL VIC Country Best on Ground Medal” awarded to Josh Taylor (1 goal), Brad Harvey, Justin Myers, Jarrod Bayliss (2 goals), Dylan Taylor, Robbie Ross.

Under 18s
Healesville 18.17.125 defeated Wandin 9.2.56
Healesville has gone back to back with a very convincing 69 point win over Wandin. The first half of this clash was a reasonable battle although Healesville did look the better side early with a 4.6.30 to 1.0.6 opening but Wandin showed some good spirit in the 2
ndterm booting 3.1 to Healesville’s 4.1 to stay somewhat in touch at half-time as they trailed by 31 points. If there was any doubt about the result of this game then Healesville squashed that in the 3rd term as their running ability came to the fore leaving Wandin in their wake, Healesville booted 5.6. to 1.1 to put the game beyond doubt at 3 quarter time as their lead was out to an even 10 goals. The last quarter did open up somewhat and goals started to flow for both sides but Healesville still had the upper hand scoring 5.4 to 4.1 to become Premiers for the 2nd year in a row. Wandin best players: Tom Leech-Hines, Joshua James (1 goal), Harrison Byrne (3 goals), Patrick Hodgett (3 goals), Billy Lawrence, Lachlan Jones.       

A Grade Netball
Olinda Ferny Creek 40 defeated Wandin 33
This game was everything you wanted a Grand Final to be for 3 quarters as it was impossible to separate the sides. The first term was a great opening as both sides went goal for goal and it was Olinda that held a 1 goal lead at the first change. The 2
nd term saw both defences working overtime and goals became hard to score but Wandin was able to sneak their way in front at half-time after an 8 goal to 6 2nd quarter. The 3rd term was another goal for goal affair and neither team was able to gain any real advantage, both sides scoring 10 goals to see Wandin maintain their 1 goal lead at the final change. Olinda showed why they finished atop of the ladder in the last quarter and why they haven’t been defeated by Wandin this year, they were brilliant as they looked to go up a gear and their ball movement was first class leaving Wandin a little shocked, Olinda hammered home 13 last quarter goals to Wandin’s 5 to come away with a brilliant 7 goal win and become very deserving 2015 Premiers. Wandin best players: Tayissa Coppinger, Ruby Tidd, Gabrielle Sinclair (22 goals).

B Grade Netball
Wandin 42 defeated Mount Evelyn 32
Wandin set their victory up in the first quarter of this clash as they shot out of the blocks scoring 16 goals to 4 and leave Mount Evelyn a little stunned. Wandin continued their good form in the 2
nd adding another 10 goals to their score while Mount Evelyn scored 6 goals which saw Wandin lead by a very handy 16 goals at half-time. Mount Evelyn came out in the 3rd and gave it everything and they started to narrow the margin and get right back into the contest, they scored 13 goals to 5 to trail by 8 goals at the final change and still in the game. The last quarter was a good one for Wandin as when they got the ball they controlled the tempo of the play and just denied Mount Evelyn any real chance to be a threat, Wandin scored 11 goals to 9 to win by 10 goals and celebrate becoming the 2015 Premiers. Wandin best players: “Best on Court medal” awarded to Tayla Harris, Corinne Bogle, Kelly Nicol.


C Grade Netball
Wandin 41 defeated Olinda Ferny Creek 29
Wandin’s first half of this game was first class and really was the catalyst for their victory. Wandin started off well with a 13 goal to 5 opening qtr and stretched their lead even further in the 2nd term scoring 8 goals to 3 to lead by 13 goals at the half. The 3rd term was more of an even battle and in fact Olinda did reduce the margin after shooting 10 goals to 7 but they still trailed by 10 goals going into the final term. The last quarter was a pretty free flowing affair but Olinda was just no match as Wandin produced a 13 goals to 11 quarter to win by 12 goals and raise the Premiership Cup for 2015. Wandin best players: “Best on Court Medal” awarded to Keeley Iedema (38 goals), Rebecca McMahon, Tash Halton.

D Grade Netball
Olinda Ferny Creek 29 defeated Wandin 26
The first quarter of this game was a very low scoring encounter but it was a close one as Wandin led 6 goals to 5 at the first change. The 2
nd term did open up a little with more free flowing play as both sides started to settle and it was Olinda that got their noses in front by just 1 goal at the half after a 9 goal to 7 2nd term. The 3rd quarter was another great contest with neither team giving an inch, both sides scored 6 goals for the quarter which meant Olinda held on to their 1 goal half-time lead going into the last quarter. The last term was another beauty and the outcome of this game was still in doubt deep into the term but Olinda was able to score the crucial goals to get themselves a 3 goal buffer and was able to hold on to that lead to win by that margin and become the 2015 Premiers. Wandin best players: “Best on Court Medal” awarded to Alicia Kay (22 goals), Gayle Seeger, Erin Foot.

17 & Under Netball
Wandin 32 defeated Warburton Millgrove 21
This game started off an even affair with Wandin taking 1 goal lead into qtr time.  Wandin capitalised on their chances in the second scoring 7 goals to 3 to take a handy lead into the 3
rd qtr.  It was status quo in the 3rd with no change to the lead.  Wandin kicked it up another gear in the last and came away Premiers for 2015.  Wandin best players: “Best on Court Medal” awarded to Olivia Kerr, Keeley Iedema (21 goals), Emelie Ainslie-Aitkens.  


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.