Ron Trimble recieves top award

Trimble top VCFL volunteer

TIRELESS Newbridge Football Club president Ron Trimble is the Victorian Country Football League volunteer of the year.

Trimble was recognised for his continuing hard work to rebuild the club after it was devastated by floods in January.

VCFL chief executive Steven Reaper said Newbridge played its entire season away from home after the complete destruction of its facilities.

"Ron represents the very best of what volunteering in country football and netball is about," Mr Reaper said. "He typifies the determination, the self-sacrifice and can-do attitude that has kept football clubs alive and thriving over all these years."

Trimble was presented with the award in front of more than 500 guests at the VCFL Premiers Dinner in Melbourne last Saturday.

Hampden League club South Warrnambool was VCFL club of the year, ahead of fellow finalists Dookie United, Kilcunda-Bass and Ouyen United.

South Warrnambool enjoyed a record-breaking season in membership and sponsorship and all nine of the club's teams participated in finals.

Balranald Football Club was most disciplined club and the competition it plays in, Central Murray, took home the award for most disciplined league.

League recognition awards were given to the Gippsland League and the Albury-Wodonga Junior Football League.

Glenn Hayes from the Goulburn Valley Football Umpires Association was honoured as VCFL umpire of the year


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Notice Board - Widget

News - Widget

Ladder - Sidebar

2012 Seniors
1 Bridgewater 54
2 Newbridge 44
3 Pyramid Hill 44
4 BL Serpentine 44
5 Calivil United 42
6 Marong 32
7 YCW 16
8 Mitiamo 12
9 Inglewood 0