U16 Girls Div 2 Grand Final

The Under 16 Girls side is still living the dream after an epic one goal victory in the big dance. Playing St Bede’s Mentone for the third week in a row, and having shared the previous wins, the teams knew each other well. 26 playing 16 brought the usual bench challenges, and the girls were extra nervous and excited for the game.  
The first quarter was a nil all draw, the second saw us score the first goal of the game and take to the lead. We then surrendered the lead in the third quarter with attack after attack being largely held out by the brilliant defence of the team. The third quarter huddle was superb; all players embraced in a circle, the captains and leaders took over the coaching and set themselves and the team for what they had all worked so hard to achieve all year. 

Starting the final quarter four points down; the grit, the run and the determination of the team was unbelievable. The winning goal coming mid-quarter and the pressure and attack throughout. A one goal victory 2.6-18 to 1.6-12 was a fitting reward for a remarkable team. Well done girls!


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Latest News

Notice Board


Congratulations to the players on these momentous milestones

100 GAMES - Season 2018

Luca Santalucia

Xavier King

Fletcher King

Nathan Wood

Ben Sullivan


50 GAMES - Season 2018

Ben Read

Dante Biviano

Ben Wallis

Charlie Martin

Archie Murrihy

Felix Allard

Zander Ross

Kye Fincher

Charlie Anderson

Anton Sparano

Athan Iannides

Carlos Andrews

Benny Dever

Koby Van Lieshout

Andre Matthews

Liam Peppard