The History of Oberon Rugby League

Oberon sports ground is likely to be one of about 190 sites nationwide acknowledged by the Australian Rugby League with the laying of a centenary plaque in the 2008 season.

 Plans are in place for the Oberon Tigers home turf to be officially recognised as part of the code's centenary celebrations, honouring the club's dynasty in the 1960s and early 1970s.

 From 1960 to 1971 the Tigers played in 12 straight Group 10 1st grade grand finals winning 10 of them. Their seven straight titles from 1961 to 1967 is a Country Rugby League record for consecutive premierships. Only a loss to Bathurst St Patrick's in the 1968 decider prevented the mountain men from matching NRL club St George that won an incredible 11 straight titles from 1956 to 1966. 

 Group 10 president Lenore Zamparini says the historical significance of the site and club is something the local community can be proud of.

 "Oberon rugby league has a rich history, to think that a side from a town so small can be dominant for so long is unbelievable," he said 

 "The club and ground would be a very worthy recipient."

 Tigers Vice President Kerry Gibbons hopes national acknowledgement of their past can help the battling Group 10 club re-build.

 "The recognition might prove a source of inspiration for a Tiger revival, if we work together I believe we can become a force in Group 10 again," said Gibbons. 

 Oberon sports ground would join some of Australia's most famous sporting venues as a recipient of the centenary plaque, the Sydney Cricket Ground, Melbourne Cricket Ground and Telstra Stadium are just a few of the elite sites set to be recognised during the centenary celebrations.

 An exact date and location for the plaque laying ceremony will be discussed with Oberon Tigers committee and Council.



 Group 10 - 1st Grade Premierships


1958  -  Beaten in the GF by Orange Cyms   *  17 - 6

1960  -  Beaten in the GF by  Workmens Club   *  12 -11 

1961  -  Oberon defeated Workmens Club  *  22 - 5

1962  -  Oberon defeated Workmens Club  *  14 - 7

1963  -  Oberon defeated Workmens Club  *  23 - 2

1964  -  Oberon defeated Workmens Club  *  30 - 2

1965  -  Oberon defeated Workmens Club  *  29 - 5

1966  -  Oberon defeated Charlestons  *  23 - 10

1967  -  Oberon defeated Charlestons   *  23 - 2

1968  -  Beaten in the GF by Bathurst St Patrick's  *  9 - 8

1969  -  Oberon defeated Ex-Services   *  7 - 3

1970  -  Oberon defeated Cowra  *  7 - 6

1971  -  Oberon defeated Cowra   *  12 - 5

1975  -  Oberon defeated Ex-Services   *  17 - 4


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Club Sponsors