JJ Liston Trophy Night

David Robbins from the Sandringham Football Club has won his second JJ Liston Trophy after winning the award in 2000 whilst with Springvale. Robbins polled 16 votes to win by one vote from North Ballarat's Stephen Jurica. Adrian Fletcher finished equal third alongside Tasmania's Jordan Doering with 14 votes. Port Melbourne's Jeremy Clayton topped the votes with 20, but was ineligible due to a suspension incurred early in the season.

The top vote catchers for Williamstown were:
Adrian Fletcher 14 votes
Heath Scotland 8 votes
Brad Lloyd 8 votes
Marcus Baldwin* 7 votes
Sam Cranage 6 votes
Mark McGough 6 votes
*Ineligible due to suspension.

The TXU-VFL Team of the Year was named with the side comprising of four Seagull's players. Brad Lloyd and Josh Mahoney occupied the two half forward flank positions, whilst Marcus Baldwin was named in a forward pocket and Adrian Fletcher on the interchange bench.

Senior Coach Brad Gotch was presented with the honour of the Coach of the Year, whilst Josh Mahoney was named as the team's captain.

The other award winners on the night were Nick Sautner from the Northern Bullants who won his fifth consecutive Jim 'Frosty' Miller award for the competitions leading goal kicker, Aaron Davey from Port Melbourne who won the Fothergill-Round Medal for the most promising youngster, and Ross Cassidy of the Box Hill Hawks who won the A. Todd Medal for the Reserves Best and Fairest.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

VFL News Feed

AFL News Feed