Liston Medal Results

Former Sandringham player Shane Valenti (Now with Port Melbourne) and North Ballarats’ Steve Clifton have tied to win the 2010 Liston medal - Both players collected 20 votes.

Valenti came runner up in the Liston when playing for Sandringham in 2007.

Sandringhams highest vote getter was 1st year player Chris Irving, Irving finished on 9 votes. Another 1st year player James Magner finished on 5 votes splitting them up was club stalwart Shane Tregear who finished on 8 votes.

Held at Etihad stadium last night the event also included the TAC Cup's Best and Fairest winner with Sandringham Dragon Jackson Sketcher sharing the honour with Dyson Heppell. The night also featured the unveiling of the VFL Team of the Year - unfortunately no Sandringham players made the team.

Willaimstown Forward Matt Little was awarded the Frosty Miller Medal as the competitions’ leading goalkicker, booting 80 goals for Williamstown in a superb season and Frankston livewire Michael Hibberd provided a highlight in what was a disappointing season for the Dolphins, winning the Fogerhill Medal as the best first year player.

Sandringham Voting 2010:

Player Club R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7 R8 R9 R10 R11 R12 R13 R14 R15 R16 R17 R18 TOTAL
Sandringham Football Club
R. Clarke Sandringham 3                                   3
R. Stanley Sandringham 2                             1     3
B. McEvoy Sandringham   3                                 3
J. Magner Sandringham   2                         3       5
J. Steven Sandringham   1       2                         3
C. Irving Sandringham     3 1           3               2 9
S. Tregear Sandringham     2 3                           3 8
D. Armitage Sandringham             1 1                     2
R. Ferraro Sandringham                 2                   2
P. Cahill Sandringham                   2                 2
S. King Sandringham                   1                 1
D. Gallagher Sandringham                         2           2
A. Pattison Sandringham                             2       2
T. Simpkin Sandringham                             1       1
N. Sautner Sandringham                                   1 1
CLUB ROUND TOTAL 5 6 5 4 0 2 1 1 2 6 0 0 2 0 6 1 0 6 47


Sandringham Players to have won the J.J.Liston Medals

2005 Paul Johnson
2003 David Robbins
1997 Justin Crough
1992 Joe Rugolo
1985 Neil MacLeod
1962 Keith Burns
1947 Stan Tomlins


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.