Gallagher named Sandringham Captain for 2011

David Gallagher was announced the Captain of the Sandringham Football Club for 2011 last night in front of a large crowd at the clubs annual jumper presentation night.

Gallagher was recruited from the Prahran Dragons to the Adelaide in the 1998 AFL Draft. After playing 26 games over three seasons which included an AFL Rising Star nomination in 1999 he was traded to Carlton, he played 7 games at Carlton before being delisted after the 2002 season. Gallagher came to the Zebras in 2003 and since then has played 131 games and kicked 111 goals in his 8 seasons. Gallagher is a triple premiership player and a 2 times Best and Fairest Winner for Sandringham. David replaces Sandringham legend Nick Sautner at the helm after Sautner announced his retirement after the 2010 season.

Gallagher spoke to the large crowd about his hunger for more success in the black and gold and his delight at being part of the club for so long. Sandringham CEO John Mennie was very happy that Gallagher would Captain the club in 2011. “It is a great reward for Gags. He has been a loyal servant to the club and has always been a leader around the place even if he didn’t have the title of Captain”

Gallagher will be flanked by Marcus Marigliani and James Magner who will be the Vice and Deputy Vice Captains. Rounding out the young leadership group is Rick Ferraro, James Hallahan and Daniel Sands.

Congratualtions to Gags and the leadership group and all the young blokes who were given their Sandy jumpers last night!

Sandy jumper list shown below:

1 Marigliani Marcus
2 Dore Brett 
3 Boland Matt
4 Ferraro Ricky
5 Hallahan James
6 Sands Daniel
7 Andrews Madison
8 Lourey Michael
9 Fermanis Paul
10 Orr James
11 Jetta Rodney
12 Waller Chris
13 Grant Daniel
14 Benbow Nick 
15 De Blecourt Nathan
16 McMahon Tom
17 Irving Chris
18 Fleming Andrew
19 Wade Matthew
20 Meehan Michael
21 Barnes Kelvin
22 McBain Sam
23 Magner James
24 Jones Dylan
25 Cathcart Robert
26 Allan Jarryd
27 Smith Cameron Keiffer
28 Stapleton Matt
29 Shakallis Peter
42 Gallagher David
45 Matthew  Bowles
46 Porebski Nick
47 Quick Tim
48 Plostins Jesse
49 Sikora Michael
50 Patira Josh
51 Mavric Tim
52 Siakavelis James
53 Neville Sandy
54 Tim Sullivan
55 Rist Billymo 
56 Michaliades Chris
57 Bruin Max
58 Stone Warrick
59 Newton Rikki



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.