Tuesday 28 July 2009

Morningside ball magnet Paul Shelton has opened up a handy seven-vote lead in the Syd Guildford Trophy as voting goes ‘in camera’ for the last month of the season.

Shelton polled votes for the ninth time in 14 games against Broadbeach last Saturday week to move to 30 votes, seven clear of nearest rival Jarred Ilett.

The winner of the $750 prize plus trophy will be revealed on Grogan Medal night, when votes for both player of the year awards are counted.

Ruckmen Broc McCauley (Southport) and Jacob Gough (Morningside) polled three votes in Round 14 to move up the leaderboard, McCauley jumping into equal fourth place with Gough just a vote behind.

Gough sits level with Redland big man Jeff White, such has been the outstanding form of the three ruckmen this season.

Labrador utility Jordan Doering moved into the top 10 with strong display at half-back against the NT Thunder on Saturday.


Broadbeach v Morningside

5 Votes           Paul Shelton                        Morningside 

4 Votes           Ryan Holman                       Morningside 

3 Votes           Jacob Gough                        Morningside 

2 Votes           Dayne Zorko             Broadbeach 

1 Vote             Nick Clark                  Morningside

Southport v Mt Gravatt

5 Votes           Damien Charleston Southport     

4 Votes           Kurt Niklaus              Southport     

3 Votes           Broc McCauley         Southport     

2 Votes           Ethan Reading                     Mt Gravatt     

1 Vote             Jarrad Thompson    Southport

Aspley v Western Magpies

5 Votes           Lucas Matthews       Aspley           

4 Votes           Val Pope                    W Magpies   

3 Votes           Brendan Forbes       Aspley           

2 Votes           Shaun Tapp              Aspley           

1 Vote             Robert Copeland     Aspley

Brisbane Lions v Redland

5 Votes           Aaron Cornelius      Brisbane Lions        

4 Votes           Matt Davies               Redland        

3 Votes           Jason Roe                 Brisbane Lions        

2 Votes           Phil Carse                 Redland        

1 Vote             Joel Tippett                Brisbane Lions

NT Thunder v Labrador

5 Votes           Dylan Kent                NT Thunder 

4 Votes           Troy Taylor                NT Thunder 

3 Votes           Jordan Doering        Labrador       

2 Votes           Darren Ewing                       NT Thunder 

1 Vote             Aaron Shattock        Labrador       

 Votes after Rd 14:

30: Paul Shelton (Morningside)

23: Jarred Ilett (NT Thunder)

22: Nathan Gilliland (Mt Gravatt)

21: Matt Fife (Broadbeach)

21: Broc McCauley (Southport)

20: Jacob Gough (Morningside)

20: Jeff White (Redland)

19: Ryan Holman (Morningside)

19: Phil Carse (Redland)

18: David Lillico (Morningside)

18: Jordan Doering (Labrador)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.