History of the Goulburn Swans AFC

An Australian Rules Club was formed in Goulburn in April 1930, when Frank Panther and a group of enthusiast who had come to Goulburn from other centers were Australian football was played, called a meeting at which Mr Schultz, of the Royal Hotel, and formally of Culcairn, was elected patron, Mr Panther from Victoria and the owner from a drapery store, President, Mr. McKay an employee of the NSW railway department previously stationed at Broken Hill, Vice President, Mr. Jack Fitzgerald, Secretary of the club. Goulburn colours were pale blue and they were known as the Waratahs.

The first game played at Goulburn was between to Sydney teams, Newtown and Sydney, and was played at the showground (now the Workers Arena). In 1930 before one of the largest crowds to see a football match in Goulburn Mr Schultz started the game by flying over the ground in his private plane and dropping the football for the commencent of play.

Goulburn played its first game against a Sydney Club, Rosebery and won. Many games were played against Canberra games prior to the entry of Goulburn into the C.A.N.F.L competition in 1932. Transport was a major problem as the team had to travel 60 miles to Canberra in a small bus owned by Mr Schultz and driven by one of his sons. The bus had a seating capacity of ten only and those players fortunate enough to secure a seat initially had to trade places with those standing at various times during the journey of over 2 hours. Despite transport and other difficulties Goulburn entered the Canberra competition in 1932 and won the premiership against strong competition from the 5 Canberra teams.

Goulburn scraped into the 4 on percentage and bet Eastlake buy a narrow margin in the first semi-final in a vigorous encounter with 8 players being reported. Morrie Bean of Goulburn received 5 charges. In a bitter Grand Final Goulburn defeated Manuka 7.18 (60) 5.6 (36).

Goulburn folded in 1936 and it wasn't until 1965 when Warren Tansley who was an avid Hawthorn supporter decided he would start up a Aussie Rules team in Goulburn it was only fitting that they would were the Hawthorn colours and became the Goulburn Hawks. The Hawks won premierships in 1972, 90 and 91. Goulburn amalgamated with Bargo in 1996 and 97. In 1998 they went on there own again but folded at the end of 1998 season.

After the Hawks folded in 1998 Aussie Rules in Goulburn went into recess until 2003 when Michael and Robert Dillon put an advertisement in the Goulburn Post looking for people interested in forming an Aussie Rules Football Team in Goulburn. From that advertisement Geoff Bell was to become President, Michael Dillon Treasurer and Robert Dillon Secretary of the newly formed Goulburns Swans 2004. Geoff worked hard at securing The Goulburn Workers Club as a major sponsor, Gavin Halder became involved as a Vice President and secured more sponsor to give the club a good financial start. A variety of players turned up for the first couple of training runs. Pete Jensen was elected coach with Steve Dawson and Steve Armstrong as assistant coaches. The Goulburn Swans won the premiership in there first season which equaled the feat of the Goulburn Waratahs 72 years earlier.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Notice Board

Follow our social media channels for info on the 2017 season! 

Search Goulburn Swans Football Club on Facebook.

@goulburnswans on Twitter


Ladder - Sidebar

2015 AFL Canberra Regional Grade
1 Goulburn Swans 86.67
2 Cootamundra Blues 80.00
3 Cooma Cats 46.67
4 Yass Roos 40.00
5 Ainslie Tricolours 33.33
6 Tuggeranong Hawks 13.33

Major Sponsor