Goannas 2013 Presentation Night

This year saw the inaugural presentation of the Gray Medal for the Goannas Best & Fairest winner. The Gray medal is named for the Gray Family who have sponsored the Holroyd Parramatta Blacktown Football Club since its inception in 1979. It was a great honour to have Ken Gray in attendance and the first minted medal was presented to him as a token of the club’s appreciation for his support.


As is tradition the Goannas Presentation Night was held at the Merrylands RSL Club – another long time sponsor of the club – in their newly refurbished Swan Room.


Other special guests included the Mayor of Holroyd, Nasr Kafrouni; MP for Smithfield, Andrew Rohan; Goanna Hall of Fame members Peter (PT) Taylor & Peter (Hair Bear) Ricketts; Former club presidents John Perry & Bob Murphy; & ex-Goanna and Phelan Medal winner Michael Porter.


With over 160 players, members, family and guests in attendance it was a great wrap-up to a successful year. 3 of our 4 teams made the finals - with the 18s going on to contest the Grand Final  - and all 4 sides were represented in the Top 10 of their respective grades at the Phelan Medal.

The Winners on the night were:

Leading Goal Kicker: Ben Rogers (who also bagged the leading goal kicker in AFL Sydney Division 1)

First Grade B&F: Jordan Pidgeon
First Grade B&F runner-up: Jack Schwarze

The rest of the top 5 were Ben Rogers (3), Scott Maguire (4), Stuart McKinley (Players’ Player) & Josh Terrey (equal 5th)

1st Grade Coach's Award: Jack Schwarze
1st Grade Most Consistent: Josh Terrey
1st Grade Players' Player: Stuart Mckinley

Reserves B&F: Sireli Fifita (also celebrating 100 games and was named Players’ Player)
Reserves runners-up: Peter Zuvela & Drew Lawrence

Reserves Coach's Award: Mark McLeod
Reserves Most Consistent: Adam Townsend
Reserves Players' Player: Sireli Fifita    

3rd Grade B&F:                                   Shane Riddle
3rd Grade runner-up:                     Matthew Ophof  (and Players’ Player)

3rd Grade Coach's Award: Peter Dumesny
3rd Grade Most Consistent: Ed Helmore
3rd Grade Players' Player: Matthew Ophof    

18s B&F: Arin Rickett (son of club legend Peter)
18s runner-up: Harrison Spiteri

18s Coach's Award: Mitchell Bleesing
18s Grade Most Consistent: Chom Manut

John Perry Rising Star:                   Jack Mara

Club Stalwart Alan Fennell was awarded life membership and also took out the Clubman of the Year for his tireless efforts over many, many years at the Goannas.


On a sad note Reserve Grade captain/coach Dwayne Cocks announced he was returning to Adelaide and will be leaving the club. Dwayne has been instrumental in resurrecting the fortunes of the Reserves, leading the team to the finals in his first year of coaching.  


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.