Queensland Under 15's Schoolboy Titles

Queensland Dominate 15 Years Schoolboy Titles

South East players Sam Harrold, Tony Milford, Scott Doyle, Jarrod Watson, and Quaid Rippingale- Vesetolu returned from the recent 15 Years Secondary Schools Titles as Australian Merit team members. Tony and Scott were both members of the Souths Logan Magpies Cyril Connell Cup team this year. No doubt that this competition honed their skills and resolve with the regular training and competition at a higher level.

Sam Harrold captained the team and lead from the front. He was sharp from his new role as dummyhalf. Defensively he was outstanding forcing errors with his strong tackling. Tony was instrumental in his role as halfback guiding the team around the park and sparking the attack. Scott became something of a try scoring back rower. He produced quality efforts every moment he was on the park. Jarrod finished the competition as the leading try scorer in Pool A. His strength and speed too much to handle for his opposites. Still no team wins without a good go forward man and Quaid certainly supplied the tough metres for the team.

The Queensland Maroons dominated the titles played at Hindmarsh Stadium in Adelaide. The team was undefeated throughout the week long Championships posting an imposing 4 wins with 136 Points For  136 and 40 Points Against.

The New South Wales teams had come into the Championships with much fanfare and were highly fancied.

The team was put though a week long preparation before travelling to the Championships. An opposed session against the NYC Gold Coast Titans team showed that the youngsters were  capable of stepping up against more physical opposition and more than ready to compete.

Team Manager Jim Look noted, “That Queensland Maroons have now  won back to back titles. It says something of our development within this age group. A number of the boys have come through elite programs within their clubs, the QAS and most recently the Cyril Connel Cup competition. Add to that Schools Challenges run by the Broncos and the Cowboys. They are being asked to perform regularly at a very high standard.  Finally under the coaching expertise of Coach Don Saunders, it is a recipe for success.“

Don Saunders is an ex- South Queensland Crusher and Toowoomba Clysdale captain.

Championship Final

QLD Maroon 34(Tries: Scott Doyle 2, Jarrod Watson, Jack Rycen, Tony Milford, Mitchell Grimes, Goals: Mitchell Grimes 3, Tony Milford 2)

defeated ACT 10 (Tries: Carl Johnson, Luke Heyman, Goals: Luke Heyman )

Queensland Maroons Most Valuable Player

Jack Rycen (Emmaus College, Rockhampton)

Player of the Championships
Queensland Maroon 9 – Sam Harrold  (Palm Beach Currumbin State High School)



 2         Jarrod Watson  (St Patricks College, Shorncliffe)

 6         Mitchell Grimes  (Bentley Park College)

 7         Tony Milford  (Clairvaux MacKillop College)

 9         Sam Harrold  (Palm Beach Currumbin State High School)

10        Quaid Rippingale-Vesetolu  (Keebra Park State High School)

11        Jack Rycen (Emmaus College, Rockhampton

    12        Scott Doyle  (Clairvaux MacKillop College)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Major Sponsor

Club Sponsors