Club Name – Yea Football Netball Club / Yea TIGERS

Founded.  An advertisement in the Yea Telegraph of 27.3.1890 asks those willing to form a football club to attend a meeting, but documentary evidence confirms that nothing came of it, although a match was played against Tallarook shortly after.  Locally, a competition started in 1893 after a meeting was held at the Royal Mail Hotel Yea, on Wednesday April 18th 1893 to form the Yea Football Club.   This was four years before the formation of the Victorian Football League in 1897.

As of 1895, Yea played against other locally formed sides for  two years, before being formally accepted into the North East Association of Football in 1895, playing their first match in June of that year against Broadford.  Yea have fielded football sides (in differing leagues) since this date, with very few years where no sides were fielded, namely during the two world wars.

League  - Yarra Valley Mountain District Football & Netball League

The Yea Football Netball Club joined the current league, Yarra Valley Mountain District Football & Netball League in 2008, after leaving the Kyabram and District Football League.  A decision was made to pursue a change in league for the betterment of the club, which had struggled to field sides in the Kyabram League due to long distances to away games. It was felt that a move to the Yarra Valley Mountain District Football & Netball League would create better opportunities for those who were working or studying in Melbourne to commit to games that would be played closer to Melbourne, as well as re-invigorating strong rivalries between Yea and nearby towns, who also field sides in the same league, such as Alexandra, Thornton-Eildon and Kinglake.


1896, 1902, 1912, 1919, 1945, 1946, 1950, 1960, 1968, 1976, 1982, 1984

1986 (under 17’s), 1987 (under 17’s), 1988 (under 17’s), 1990 (under 17’s)

1992 (under 17’s), 1993 (under 17’s), 1995, 2004, 2005.

* In 1950, John McLeish returned from Essendon Football Club in the VFL, to coach Yea voluntarily, after current coach George Hopgood broke his leg.  John McLeish had played with both the firsts and seconds at Essendon that year and both teams, plus Yea were premiers.


VFL/AFL players (name, club)

Glenn Elliott – St Kilda & Melbourne 155 games / 82 goals

Robert Elliott - St Kilda & Melbourne 103 games / 23 goals

Bruce Elliott – Melbourne 5 games (Coached Yea)

W L Billett – Fitzroy & South Melb 15 games (Coached Yea)

Ted Brown – Carlton 94 games (Coached Yea)

Dr Frank Costigan – Fitzroy 26 games (Coached Yea)

Lindsay McClure – Footscray 4 games (Coached Yea)

John McLeish – Essendon 10 games (Coached Yea)

Derek Symonds – Melbourne 1 game (Coached Yea)

Eddie Jackson – Melbourne 84 games (Coached Yea)

Garry Rasmussen – Hawthorn 7 games (Coached Yea)

Peter Dolling – Sth Melb 23 games (Coached Yea)

Gavan McCarthy – Nth Melb 1 game (Coached Yea)

Richard Ivey – Nth Melb 1 game (Coached Yea)

Bernie McCarthy – Nth Melb 148 games / 80 goals

Shane McCarthy – Geelong 3 games

Bill Purcell – North Melbourne 10 games

Jack Parker – North Melbourne 1 game

Laurie Morgan – Fitzroy 34 games / 14 goals

Allan Rogers – Footscray 22 games

Harry Verdon - St Kilda 2 games / 3 goals Fitzroy 1 game

David Murray – Melbourne 6 games

Maurice Mcleish – St Kilda 1 game

Les Reed – Geelong 25 games

Alan Anderson - Fitzroy 4 games

Jeff Hopgood – North Melbourne 42 games

Vin Brown – Carlton 117 games

Robbie Fox – Essendon 52 games / 34 goals

George Dykes – North Melbourne 8 games

Bob Lockhart – Richmond 13 games / 7 goals

H Townly – Hawthorn 1

Alex McGregor – Geelong 32 games/ 7 goals

Stephen Bloomer Carlton, North & Essendomn – 10 games

Mick Warren – Collingwood – 3games

Matthew Dundas – Fitzroy & Richmond 100 games

Brad Hall (1994 Melbourne List)


Larry Finch

Larry Finch (1944-1998) was overwhelmingly a favourite son and local legend of the game for the Yea Tigers.  A life member, Larry played 520 senior games for the club, and contributed greatly to the clubs proud history.  

Larry played for Yea in many premiership sides (some as vice captain), taking out grand finals in 1960, 1968, 1976.

Regularly amongst the best players, Larry won the club Best and Fairest Award in 1962, Most Consistent in 1961, 1970, 1974; Most improved in 1966, and Best Club Person in 1966, and Citizenship Award in 1966.

As a tribute to Larry, a memorial shield in his honour was introduced this year to be played for at the meeting of Yea and Kinglake in the first round clash of each season.

Larry, his immediate and extended family contributed to the club over many years, with his son Mathew coaching and playing Football for Yea, (including premiership sides) and daughter Rochelle playing netball over many years.  Larry was overwhelmingly a favourite son and local legend of the game for the Yea Tigers.