VB NSW Cup rd #23 preview - Auckland vs. Wyong

By Corey Rosser

The last time these two teams met the Wyong Roos pulled off one of the upsets of the season, beating the Vulcans at Wellington’s Westpac Stadium.

That game back in May remains a bitter taste in the Vulcans mouths and the players and staff alike will no doubt be keen to return the favour at Morry Breen Oval.

Both come into the match off the back of victories last week, the Vulcans producing a professional display to beat Canterbury 22-12, while Wyong continued their climb with a classy 24-20 win over Mounties.

Auckland welcome back boom youngest Carlos Tuimavave to the fullback role, which sees Tangi Ropati shift out to the wing.

Vodafone Warriors prop Russell Packer misses the match, but the Vulcans are well accounted for in the front row with Sebastine Ikahihifo shifting into the number eight jersey.

The key players for Auckland are led by Raymond Faitala-Mariner. The Junior Warrior comes into the match following a stellar showing against the Bulldogs and his quality lines will keep Wyong guessing all day.

Another to watch is Agnatius Paasi, the powerful centre was outstanding last week and takes multiple defenders to take down, while his offload has the ability to turn a match.

Despite not being affiliated with an NRL club this season Wyong have plenty of talent in their ranks.

Winger Etu Uaisele is a powerhouse runner who has been in the NRL mix for many years, while Marvin Filipo will pose a risk for the Vulcans too.

Wyong will be pumped to register another win and further distance themselves from the last placed Bulldogs, while Auckland need another win to propel themselves into prime position come finals time.


Wyong Roos Vs Auckland Vulcans

Morry Breen Oval, Sunday, August 18

Kick-off: 3.00pm AEST

Referee: Ziggy Przeklasa-Adamski


Auckland Vulcans:

1.            Carlos Tuimavave

2.            Viliami Lolohea

3.            Siosiua Taukeiaho

4.            Agnatius Paasi

5.            Tangi Ropati

6.            Steve Waetford

7.            Pita Godinet

8.            Sebastine Ikahihifo

9.            Alehana Mara

10.          Charlie Gubb

11.          John Palavi

12.          Raymond Faitala-Mariner

13.          David Bhana

14.          Siliva Havili

15.          Murray Iti

16.          Nathaniel Peteru

17.          Albert Vete

18.          Atelea Nafetalai

COACH: Willie Swann


Wyong Roos:

1.            Grant Nelson

2.            Jayson Mackenzie

3.            Marvin Filipo

4.            Dan Phillips

5.            Etu Uaisele

6.            Brad Bennett

7.            Jono Ford

8.            Eloni Vunakece

9.            Mitch Williams (c)

10.          Shaun Boss

11.          Nathan Clarke

12.          Jay Florimo

13.          Brock Molan

14.          Lionel O’Mally

15.          Simon Hawthorne

16.          Junior Tia Kilifi

17.          Joel Patterson

19.          Wade Kemplen

20.          Matt Nelson

COACH: Paul Stringer



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.