2013 Robert Hyde Medal Presentation Night

Jake Owen has topped off a great 2013 Season by taking out the 2013 Robert Hyde Medal last Friday 4th Ocotber at Sherwood Receptions in Greenvale. 

With two games to go, nineteen year old Owen and 2013 captain Matt Merlo were equal on 99 votes, Jake putting a gap between them and securing the Medal, polling 12 & 11 votes out of a possible 15 in the last two finals of the year, also claiming the 2013 Best Finals Player with 23 votes for the finals series.

Merlo claiming 2013 Runners Up Best and Fairest with 105 votes, as well as the 2013 Academic Acheivement Award for his fantastic school results, and bottom ager Jake Lever taking 3rd Best and Fairest with 93 votes.

Other winners on the night were Liam Berry who was awarded the 2013 Coaches Award, Errol McConnell the 2013 Team Targets Award winner with an average of 10.5 per game, and Josh Cauchi the 2013 Goal Kicking Award winner with 30 goals.

Long time massage therapist and trainer Brian Price was awarded the 2013 Doug McCasker Award for Best Club Person for his continued dedication and hard work.  Most Courageous was awarded to Nathan Blair, and the Neil Wood Most Improved Award was presented by Mitch & Rod Wood to Mitch Jensen.

Everyone at the Calder Cannons Football Club would like to congratulate Jake Owen for taking out the Robert Hyde Medal for Season 2013, as well as all the other award winners on the night.

The Cannons would also like to wish all the draft hopefuls the very best for the upcoming NAB AFL Draft and Rookie Draft.

Robert Hyde Medal Total Votes:

Jake OWEN 122
Matthew MERLO 105
Jake LEVER 93
Nathan BLAIR 46
Anthony PRESTIA 43
Paul AHERN 42
Victor CARBONI 38
Mitch JENSEN 38
Reilly O'BRIEN 31
Peter WRIGHT 31
Jack JAMES 24
Touk MILLER 24
Daniel THOMPSON 21
James FERRY 17
Liam BERRY 15
Josh  CAUCHI 12
Jason COOKE 4
Jarryd BONELLO 3
Jayden WALKER 3
Damien CAVKA 2
Jayden FOSTER 2
James LATHAM 1

2013 Robert Hyde Medal Presentation Night Award Winners:

2013 Robert Hyde Medallist - Jake Owen – Woodend FC 

2013 2nd Best & Fairest - Matt Merlo – Aberfeldie FC

2013 3rd Best & Fairest - Jake Lever – Romsey FC

2013 Best Finals Player - Jake Owen - Woodend FC

2013 Team Targets Award - Errol McConnell – Oak Park FC

2013 Neil Wood Most Improved Award - Mitch Jensen – Doutta Stars FC

2013 Most Courageous Award - Nathan Blair – Romsey FC 

2013 Academic Achievement Award - Matt Merlo - Aberfeldie FC

2013 Goal Kicking Award - Josh Cauchi – Pascoe Vale FC 

2013 Doug McCasker Club Person of the Year - Brian Price 


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

The Age Sport

AFL.Com Latest News