Port Part of Revamped 2013 Foxtel Cup

2013 will see a revamped Foxtel Cup with the top teams from the VFL, SANFL & WAFL forming the backbone of a new ten-team competition.  Four leading teams from the TFL / NEAFL will play qualifier matches to win the right to plan in the first round.

For the first time in the competition's three years, the leading SANFL sides, 2012 Grand Finalists Norwood and West Adelaide, will join the leading WAFL and VFL teams - reigning champions Claremont, East Fremantle, Werribee and Port Melbourne. Queanbeyan, Southport, Burnie and the NT Thunder will play qualifying games to join the six leading sides in round one.
All matches in round one, the semi finals and the Grand Final will now be played on Tuesday nights and will be broadcast on the FOX FOOTY Channel in primetime, to maximise exposure for competing clubs and players. 
Port Melbourne will play West Adelaide at the MCG on Tuesday June 11 at 8.35pm.
AFL General Manager National and International Development Andrew Dillon said the competition had been altered from its sixteen-team format to a ten-team format, in recognition of the fact that the competition should complement the state league seasons and not compromise any team's pursuit of its state league premiership with too many extra matches.
“In recognition of the altered format for the 2013 Foxtel Cup, the winning team will now claim a first prize of $100,000."
All matches will again consist of four quarters each of eighteen minutes set time, plus time-on from the last 3 minutes only (20 minutes approximately total per quarter), to lessen the load on players as well as to enable games to fit into a two-hour broadcast window.
The Foxtel Cup has again been fixtured so that club commitments are spread during the course of their state league seasons:
Qualifying Round:
Two qualifying knockout matches for NEAFL / TFL teams to be played in the period between April 13-20.
Round One:
Four round two knockout matches to be played in the period between May 21 - June 18.
Semi Finals:
Two knockout semi-final matches to be played on July 9 and July 16.
Grand Final:
Grand Final to be played on Tuesday August 6. Venue to be determined dependent on the competing teams.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2014 Peter Jackson VFL