Brogan goes Back to Back

2012 co-captain Dylan Brogan has taken out the Ivan Blyth Best & Fairest to be crowned Macquarie University Australian Football Club’s club champion for the second year running in Division One. Many predicted a much closer poll count this year with three or four senior players rumoured to have been in with a genuine chance of claiming the title. However it was Brogan who polled heavily in the middle of the season and then stormed home to win convincingly from Hugh Kirkby and Aiden MacCullogh.

A visibly stunned Brogan accepted the award and was sure to pay tribute to his fellow teammates during his acceptance speech. “I just want to thank the playing group. We had a tough season but I’ve genuinely enjoyed every minute this season and couldn’t imagine playing footy with a better bunch of blokes”, Brogan said.

Earlier in the night Jack Coghlan made club history becoming the first Under 18’s player to be awarded the Scott Uglow Players’ Player award. Coghlan’s historic win follows on from last season when Amanda Farrugia became the first female player at the club to win the award. Both victories reflect the club’s efforts in recent seasons in raising the profile of every team within the club, and not just its first grade side. Coghlan, a former Forest Lions junior footballer, said he had “thoroughly enjoyed his time in the under 18’s program (at Macquarie) and was looking forward to stepping up into senior football full time in 2013”. Coghlan also said he looked forward to “following the development of the next batch of under 18s” to join the club, predicting some “big things” from the Under 18 Warriors in coming seasons.

In other grades, David Munday took out the reserve grade best & fairest award in Division Three, whilst Carter Mullins claimed the honours in Division Four. Jack Coghlan doubled his medal tally for the night picking up the Will Ley Best & Fairest award in the Under 18’s competition, whilst Liz Fassone backed up her Sydney Women’s AFL Team of the Year selection by finishing on top of the Women’s Best & Fairest vote count.

Natasha Hidayat was awarded the Roger Sheeran Club Person of the Year Award for her contribution to running the club’s canteen this season, whilst Tim Cameron took out the Coach of the Year award for his work with the Under 18’s squad in 2012.

Full list of 2012 Award Winners:

2012 Leading Goal Kicker Aidan MacCullogh Division One: 17 Goals - 12 Games
2012 Leading Goal Kicker Ed Taffa Division Three: 16 Goals - 13 Games
2012 Leading Goal Kicker Elliot Hicks Division Three: 16 Goals - 16 Games
2012 Leading Goal Kicker Scott Uglow Division Four: 18 Goals - 15 Games
2012 Leading Goal Kicker Jackson Brackin U18s Warriors: 45 Goals - 18 Games
2012 Leading Goal Kicker Aislinn Albury Women's: 13 Goals - 12 Games
Coaches Award Gavin Nixon MUAFC Division One 2012
Coaches Award Elliot Hicks MUAFC Division Three 2012
Coaches Award Matty Lawrence MUAFC Division Four 2012
Coaches Award Chris Mitchell MUAFC Under18s 2012
Coaches Award Laila Waisu MUAFC Women's 2012
Ivan Blyth Best & Fairest Dylan Brogan MUAFC Division One 2012
Best & Fairest David Munday MUAFC Division Three 2012
Best & Fairest Carter Mullins MUAFC Division Four 2012
Will Ley Best & Fairest Jack Coghlan MUAFC U18s Warriors 2012
Best & Fairest Liz Fassone Women's 2012
Ron Aitken Most Improved Nathan Jackson MUAFC Division One 2012
Most Improved Andrew Mckinnon MUAFC Division Three 2012
Most Improved Peter Frost MUAFC Division Four 2012
Most Improved Henry St. Hill MUAFC U18s Warriors 2012
Most Improved Jessica Bond MUAFC Women's 2012
Awarded to Jack Coghlan Scott Uglow Players' Player
Awarded to Natasha Hidayat Roger Sheeran Club Person of the Year
John Benson Rookie of the Year Ned Anderson MUAFC 2012
Women's Rookie of the Year Ashley Gray MUAFC 2012
Best Player Finals Series Robert Joannides MUAFC Under 18 Division Two 2012
Coach of the Year Tim Cameron MUAFC Under 18's Coach

Macquarie University has five teams in the Sydney AFL competition, including three senior men’s teams, and an U18’s and Women’s team. Pre season training continues on Monday and Wednesday nights until December 12 at Macquarie University Sports Fields, Cnr Culloden Rd & Talavera Rd, North Ryde. 


Major Partner