The 1936 Lilydale Premiership Side


Formed in 1872, Lilydale Football Club is believed to be the second oldest active football club in Australia. It played in several football leagues including the Yarra Valley and Mountain District competition before settling in the Eastern District Football League in 1963.

Admitted into Division 2, Lilydale was a perennial finalist until 1973 when they lost the grand final to Bayswater. Sadly the club went into a gradual decline before it was relegated to 3rd Division in the early eighties and then quickly to 4th Division. Stricken with debt and a lack of interest, it took the threat of disbandment to pull the then one hundred and eleven year old club together.

The club regrouped and in a stellar period played in six consecutive grand finals including 1988 and 1991 premierships, to regain their Division 2 status. Promotion to Division 1 was finally achieved following the 1996 grand final win over Montrose. However it was to be short-lived and in a "yo yo" effect, the club was relegated in 1997, promoted in 1998 only to be relegated again in 1999.

The club carried out a severe self analysis and took two steps back to take one forward.
A premiership in 2003 saw the club re-enter Melbourne's strongest metropolitan competition, Division 1 EFL with a sound base. Six and a half wins and a credible seventh place was a sound result and proved to all and sundry that Lilydale's future was in Division 1.  In 2006 the Falcons made it to the division one finals for the time in its history. They also backed that up the following year, However both years they were knocked out in the first game against East Ringwood and EFL newcomers, Balwyn. Former Coach Brett Fisher was rewarded both years by being named SEN division one coach of the year.


After the 2009 and 2010 seasons the club lost many of its star players and unfortunately in 2010 was relegated to second Division. The coach, Simon Rourke, was first appointed as club coach in 2008 and was in charge when the club was relegated. Simon stayed on to bring the Falcons back into First Divison leading the club to the second division flag in 2011 losing only one game during the season and defeating Montrose in the Grand Final. The Colts also took out the flag in 2011 under the Victorian Football Coaches Association "Junior Coach of the Year" John Gordon. In 2012 the club consolidated in first division finishing in seventh position with 7 wins and several near misses. Having coached from 2008 to 2011 Simon was one of an elite group of coaches who have led the Falcons for 4 seasons but by signing on for season 2013 he will become the first to lead the Falcons for 5 seasons and also the first to lead them in 5 consecutive seasons which testament to his coaching expertise and the respect and high regard with which he is held in the Lilydale community.


In 2015 the club was pleased to announce the appointment of Sean Millane who has a wealth of coaching and playing experience up to VFL level. The club was attracted in particular to Sean's record of success in developing younger players. This will be a long term plan and although we may take a step or two back, it will be worth the effort. We wish Sean and the Football Department the best for season 2016. 


Senior Premierships


1891, 1913, 1919, 1922, 1923, 1924, 1936, 1940, 1946, 1988, 1991, 1996, 1998, 2003, 2011

Runners Up

1932, 1937, 1939, 1947, 1948, 1950, 1963, 1973, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1990, 1995

Registration Form







Laser Electrical


Crown Hotel - 273 Main St Lilydale 9735 1619

Open 7 days a week. 




Find us on Team App

Click HERE OR ON ABOVE LOGO to find out more

CLICK HERE for full instructions on how to load the app onto your smartphone

If you don't have a smartphone you can get notifications in your email and access the club's Team App website to view all the info on the App and MORE as the website can cater for such features as videos which the phone app cannot.

CLICK HERE to access the club's TEAM APP website.