Home Page


As another year draws to an end, we now look forward to 2019. The off season has been very busy for the committee and happy to confirm we have re-appointed Matt Shorey for season 2019, also re-appointed for next year is assistant coach Chris LaRosa.

I would like to thank everyone on the committee, sponsors and members for making the club tick during the year. I really appreciate what everyone has done. I want to thank you for giving me the opportunity in my first year as President, it has been a learning year but with all the help I have received I feel the year ran fairly smooth.
We have also been busy recruiting players and are looking forward to a big season ahead.

2018 was not as successful on the field as we would have hoped but feel that Matt is one of the best coaches we have had and feel the off-field culture of the club has improved immensely. We look forward to a bigger and better year in 2019 under his guidance.

Our AGM was held on Friday 26th of November with the following people being elected to represent our Club: 

President:                         Simon Counsel                  Vice President:         Rob Campbell
Junior Vice Presidents:   Paul Melrose & Brendon Van Eyk    
Secretary:                         Trish Price                          Treasurer:                 Jake Rabl
Football Manager:            Joel Wishart                       Bar Manager:            Nev Price
Sponsorship Team:          Neil Hughes, Simon Counsel, Rob Campbell,
                                           Paul Melrose, Brendan Van Eyk & Matt Shorey

We are pleased to announce the following football coaching positions for 2019:

Seniors Coach:       Matt Shorey             Assistant Senior Coach:          Chris La Rosa
Reserves:                Rob Campbell          Under 18's:                                Ben Lucas
Under 16's:              Nathan Campbell

Pre-season training recommenced on Wednesday 21st November with great numbers attending, we are training every Wed 6:30pm at the ground which everyone is welcome to attend.

We welcome new recruits to the Club this year in Isaack, Noah & Clay Ketchen, Gus Engley, Patrick Chin, Cody Manning and Michael Bridgman. We also welcome back all of our 2018 Senior List.

On the netball side of things Hayley Heatley is taking charge of the girls this year, signing up as our Netball Manager with Denise Parker working alongside her as Secretary/Treasurer. Senior Pre-Season training will start on Thursday 1st February with juniors starting later in the month.

The Committee and Executive is very much looking forward to season 2019 and would like to wish you and your families a very Happy and Safe Festive Season. Bring on 2019 and bring on success for the Darno's.

Thanks & Go Darno'S

Simon Counsel



1 Nyora 64
2 Longwarry 56
3 Warragul Industrials 50
4 Catani 46
5 Poowong 44
6 Ellinbank 36
7 Buln Buln 28
8 Nilma Darnum 18
9 Neerim Neerim South 12
10 Lang Lang 6