Newcastle Announce Senior Rep

The Newcastle Rugby League has announced a new look squad in an attempt to regain their billing as Country Rugby League's premier representative team...

The selectors, due to both injury and form, have made their largest cull in recent memory with no less than 8 players selected to make their Newcastle debut in a fortnight's time. 

Newcastle's Chairman of Selectors, John Crooks expressed the need to make changes to the teams from the past couple of campaigns and said that "this team was picked wholly and solely on the form showed in the first three rounds of the Tooheys Cup and our early season rep outings. The coaching staff and selectors felt there was a definite need to make changes to the squad from 2009 and we have seen that in their selections for Round 1. The loss of a couple of players through injury forced our hand a little bit too but Peter Walsh and Charlie Haggett are very pleased with the side we have given them." Crooks added that with several quality players due back from injury in the coming weeks and many players unlucky to have missed out the squad will need to perform well to maintain their places as the championships progress.

Newcastle willl play the winner of Friday's Central Hunter and Northern Rivers elimination match at Port Macquarie the week after in Newcastle. Canberra will take on Illawarra in the other match to be held in conjunction with the Newcastle Rugby League's centenary celebrations at No 1 Sportsground which will see four quality matches played throughout the day.

The four original Newcastle clubs will go head to head to celebrate their 100th season in Rugby League. Traditional rivals Souths and Wests will follow the AAMI Country Championships matches and the Northern Blues will take on Central Newcastle to close what is shaping up as a great day of rugby league.

The Newcastle team selected is;

  1. Sam Wooden
  2. Josh Mantellato
  3. David Pangai
  4. Matt Cooper
  5. Willy Poleo
  6. Chad Sharp
  7. Dane Queenan
  8. Daniel Metcalf
  9. Simon Williams
  10. Hayden Jeans
  11. Bodaniel O'Connell
  12. James McCabe
  13. Vern Moana-Mason
  14. Courtney Rolf
  15. Brendan Hlad
  16. Sione Finefeuaki
  17. Jermaine Ale


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

PayMySport Registration Form

Links to Your Leagues

NRL Updates

CRL News

Major Sponsor