Blackwater's Crushing 2016 season

Despite all the doom and gloom that is reported about Blackwater in recent times, footy is still going strong and was celebrated on Saturday night at the annual Crushers Presentation Night.

Both sides were very competitive in this year’s season with many highlights on and off the field.

After a slow start to the season for the Men’s side, the Crushers finally found some form and caused a few upsets throughout the season against Dysart and Springsure, but narrowly missed out on a finals berth.

For the Crushettes, the curse of Macca’s Oval struck once again, this time without the torrential rain. The Ladies finished 3rd overall and were eliminated from the competition by the 2016 premiers, the Emerald Tigers, in the preliminary final. The Crushettes do get to write themselves into history though as being the first team to go into extra-time in the Central Highlands Ladies competition.

Along with the competitive results, the club has also proudly produced some representative players this season with the selection of Mariah Storch in the 2016 Central Crows Ladies side and Dwayne Parsons in the 2017 CQ Capras Under 20’s train-on squad.

Reflecting on the season, President Jay Denman said it had been another good year for the Crushers with a lot of new faces in the club.

“For our Ladies side, we started with a lot of new Ladies and to be narrowly eliminated in the Preliminary Final, we should be very proud of our achievements,” Denman said.

“It’s great to have Shane Shoesmith as our head coach of the Men’s team and he’s done a lot this year with the boys to get them where they are now. I think they’ll be up the top of the ladder next season.”

The club would also like to thank their generous 2016 sponsors and is looking forward to the 2017 season.

The Blackwater Crushers AGM is at 7pm on Thursday 27th October at the Blackwater Crushers Clubhouse. Everyone is welcome.


Clubperson of the Year: Ryan Palmer


Best Back: Olivia Hamilton

Best Forward: Miranda Baker

Best Utility: Amy O’Loughlin

Most Improved: Sam Evans

Coach’s Award: Lauren Pingel

Manager’s Award: Tashia Anthony

Graham Campbell Rookie of the Year: Tashia Anthony

Player’s Player: Maddie Richard

Player of the Year: Mariah Storch


Best Back: Colby Napper

Best Forward: Rhys Giles

Best Utility: Dwayne Parsons

Most Consistent: Kelly Gage

Coach’s Award: Jed Brunner

Manager’s Award: Casey Faine

Graham Campbell Rookie of the Year: Dwayne Parsons

Player’s Player: Aaron Price

Player of the Year: Aaron Price


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

2018 Men's Ladder

2018 Purcell's Engineering Men's Competition

2018 Women's Ladder

2018 Allied Pickfords Women's Competition