Clermont's Beary successful 2016 season

The Clermont Bears looked back on their Beary successful 2016 season at their annual presentation night on Friday.

The club had mixed results on the field this season with the Ladies side finishing minor premiers and the Men’s side finishing as wooden spooners.

Regardless of the results, the club reflected on the dedication and commitment all of the players, coaching staff and volunteers showed during the challenging season.

Reflecting on the 2016 season, Treasurer Candice McKie says this season has been yet another successful season for the Bears despite the many challenges that faced the club.

“Unlike previous years, the start of this year was one of uncertainty and apprehension from a committee's perspective, especially with our men’s team.  At one point in time we were looking at the possibility of not fielding a men’s team in the competition however thanks to all of our dedicated players, staff and of course our coach Blake Waters, we dug deep and managed to have a successful year,” McKie said.

“For our ladies, I believe we have set the benchmark for the standard of Women’s Rugby League in this area and we all know that we will be back next year big and better than what we were this year.”

“On behalf of the club, I would like to thank all of the other teams and their committees who work hard week-in, week-out to ensure the success of our League in the Highlands.  A special thanks also goes to the CH committee for all of their help and support over the year and I look forward to what the 2017 season brings.”

The Clermont Bears would also like to thank their sponsors for the 2016 season:

Dawid and Glencore Clermont Mine Open Cut

Marie, Greg and Mick - Clermont Signage & Frames

Wendy Stitt - CH Cleaning

Sal & Lesty - Shop 38

Tim & Jo - TJ & J Madden Multi-Skilled Contracting

Gavin & Hayley - CQ Welding Services

Brian and Margie - GR Motors

Richard and Kathy - Beales IGA

Tony and John - Hoch & Wilkinson Real Estate


Jason Garrells Believe and Achieve: Calin Schrader

President’s Award: Kasey Scott and Ainslee Lawrence

Clubperson of the Year: Nikita McDonald

Life Membership: Darren Olzard


Best Forward: Judy Smith

Best Back: Carly Bell

Most Improved: Rebecca Stokes

Coach’s Award: Elle Waters

Most Tries: Tegan Rolfe

McKie Family Most Points Shield: Tegan Rolfe

Player’s Player: Nadine Arnold

Rookie of the Year: Mackenzie Beames

Player of the Finals Series: Johanna Robertson

Player of the Year: Tegan Rolfe


Best Forward: Patrick Payne

Best Back: Ethan Kennedy

Most Improved: Mitch Gall

Coach’s Award: Myles Dillon and Mitch Weinert

Most Tries: Jesse Johnson

Glenda Halverson Most Points Shield: Ethan Kennedy

Player’s Player: Ethan Kennedy

Rookie of the Year: Patrick Payne

Player of the Year: Tom Murray


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

2018 Men's Ladder

2018 Purcell's Engineering Men's Competition

2018 Women's Ladder

2018 Allied Pickfords Women's Competition