South West names Formidable Team


THE Toowoomba and South West Team of the Century was unveiled last night at a glittering function at the Cathedral Centre.


Broncos five-eighth Darren Lockyer was the only current star named in the side. The team is littered with internationals, many of whom remain household names throughout Queensland.


In a show of strength, a staggering seven players from the honorary Toowoomba and South West side also featured in the Queensland Team of Century named earlier this year.


Those players are Lockyer, Tom Gorman, Mick Madsen, Duncan Hall, Arthur Beetson, Duncan Thompson and Herb Steinohrt.




Toowoomba & South West Team of the Century:

1. Darren Lockyer
2. Des McGovern
3. Tom Gorman
4. John McDonald AM
5. Michael Hancock
6. Bob Banks
7. Duncan Thompson
8. Herb Steinohrt
9. Dan Dempsey
10. Mick Madsen
11. Arthur Beetson OAM
12. Duncan Hall
13. Elton Rasmussen

14. Ian "Ripper" Doyle
15. Vic Armbruster
16. John Gleeson
17. Pat McMahon

Coach: Duncan Thompson


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Links to Local League Websites

Sponsor Information