St Marys Crowned Peachey Shield Champions



St Mary’s Primary School Dubbo are the 2012 David Peachey Shield Western Primary Schools Rugby League champions.

With a tenacious come from behind effort St Mary’s reigned supreme 20-12 over Holy Family School Kelso in the year 5 and 6 regional decider at Apex Oval today.

They now advance to the state final NRL Legends day in Sydney to be staged on August 22.

Although it wasn’t all smooth sailing today, trailing 8-0 after two quick tries to Holy Family, through Tye Siakisoni and Ryan Campbell, it looked like the Bathurst school would come out on top.

But a double to Paddy Haycock saw St Mary’s claw their way back, squaring level the break.

Then Cobi Wilson stamped his mark on the match crossing twice just after half-time to give his team a 16-8 lead.

Some determined St Mary’s defence kept Holy Family’s attacking raids at bay but they eventually struck. A bustling effort from Bryce Rue made it a 4 point ball game.

However any hopes of a Holy Family resurgence were dashed when a Samuel Thompson try sealed victory for St Mary’s.

In the year 3 and 4 Russell Richardson Cup division it was Orange’s Calare Public School who took home the silverware with a 12-4 win over St Augustine’s Narromine in the final.

After impressing in all the preliminary matches halfback Ben Blimka continued his form in the decider.

The clever player maker bagged two tries and earned man of the match honours inthe final.

Tournament coordinator and Western ARL Development Officer Mick Armstrong reflected on yet another successful tournament and
forecast the emergence of some new household Rugby League names.

“It was a great finish to the competitions, we had nine localised gala days involving almost 3000 primary students.”

“Not too long ago there were players like Jack Wighton, Daniel Mortimer and Harry Siejka competing in this carnival,” said Armstrong.

“These players have now reached the NRL and I’m sure with the talent on display today we’ll see some kids follow in their footsteps,” Armstrong added.

David Peachey and Russell Richardson were on hand for presentations along with injured Manly Sea Eagle Ben Farrer.


St Mary’s Primary School Dubbo 20 (Paddy Hayock 2, Cobi Wilson 2, Samuel Thompson tries) defeated Holf Family School Kelso 12 (Tye Siakisoni, Ryan Campbell, Bryce Rue tries)

Player of final: Jono Davis


Calare Public School Orange 12 (Ben Blimka 2, Jack Barclay tries) defeated St Augustines Narromine 4 (Paddy Burns try)

Player of final: Ben Blimka


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.