2017 Sports Awards To Be Hosted By FASANOC

The 2017 Fiji Sports Awards will be hosted by the Fiji Association of Sports and National Olympic Committee, in partnership with Fiji Sports Council and the Fiji National Sports Commission.

Chairman of the 2017 Fiji Sports Awards Committee, Manasa Baravilala, said the awards night was an opportunity to recognise Fiji's high achievers from various Sporting Fraternities and to reward them for their hard work and commitment to sports development in the country.

The Fiji Sports Awards which first started in 2011 was created to recognised the contribution of athletes, administrators, journalists and photographers to sports in Fiji.

Swimmer Matelita Buadromo, judoka Tevita Takayawa, weightlifter Manueli Tulo and athletics Banuve Tabakaucoro, para athlete Mere Roden and powerlifter Sainimili Turner are some names that have won the Sportsman and Sportswoman awards.

Teams like the Fiji Netball Pearls, Fiji Football and Fiji Hockey have also won awards for their achievements in sports in Fiji.

11 category awards are for grabs and these include Coach of the Year, Administrator of the Year, Technical Official of the Year, Sports Photograph of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Sports Team of the Year, Young Sports Man and Woman as well as Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year.

In order to avoid disappointment Mr Baravilala is encouraging National Federations to submit nominations for the Fiji Sports Awards.

Nomination must be submitted no later than 5pm on Friday January 19.

The awards night will be held on March 2 at the National Gymnasium with a Guest Speaker and Chief Guest to be announced soon.

2016 Winners of the Awards:

Fiji Tattslotto Fiji Sportswoman of the Year;

An individual female athlete whose performance and achievement is ranked the highest by their sport at either local or international level throughout 2016.

Winner: Mere Rodan (Table Tennis) 

Fiji Tattslotto Fiji Sportsman of the Year

An individual male athlete whose performance and achievement is ranked the highest by their sport at either local or international level throughout 2016.

Winner: Osea Kolinisau (Rugby)

Fortech 2016 Young Female Athlete of the Year

An individual female athlete, aged 16 years or younger as at 31st December 2015, who has achieved outstanding results in 2016.

Winner: Sally Yee (Table Tennis)

Powerade 2016 Young Male Athlete of the Year

An individual male athlete, aged 16 years or younger as at 31st December 2015, who has achieved outstanding results in 2016.

Winner: Sitiveni Timi (Weightlifting) 

Metframe 2016 Sports Organisation of the Year

The sporting federation who has conducted their affairs in a fair and transparent manner for the benefit of their membership. The federation should have a proven record of consistent participation from club to international level and demonstrated sustainable development programmes for their athletes at all levels.

Winner: Weightlifting Fiji

SportsWorld's 2016 Sports Team of the Year

A sports team who has recorded outstanding performances either locally or internationally in 2016.

Winner: Team Fiji Rugby Men's Sevens team

OSEP Hanisi Visanti 2016 Administrator of the Year

The individual who has a proven record of administrative strengths that has advanced the goals of their sport during 2016.

Winner: Sikeli Tuinamuana (Weightlifting)

Paradise Beverages Technical Official of the Year

An individual who has been an active Technical Official during 2016 having carried out officiating duties at competitions organized by their sport either locally or internationally showing evidence of the ability to interpret and execute rules in a manner that has benefitted their sport.

Winner: Naca Cawanibuka (Rugby)

Fiji Water Volunteer of the Year

To acknowledge an individual’s outstanding voluntary work in the service of sports.

Winner: Mereia Belo (Volleyball)

ANZ Coach of the Year

An individual who has had made a significant impact on the development and performance of athlete(s) having progressed them throughout the year with their achievements.

Winner: Ben Ryan (Rugby)

Tappoo Sports Photograph of the Year

Still Photograph only – for most outstanding sports photograph either published or unpublished.

Winner: Adi Nacola (Weightlifting)


Pic: 2016 Fiji Sports Awards Winners


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


Upcoming Games:


Youth Olympic Games – Buenos Aires, Argentina, 6th – 18th October, 2018

 Click HERE to visit Team Fiji Website


Sporting Discounts at Suva Apartments

The Suva Apartments offers special discounted rates to all sporting individuals and teams.

Stay at the Suva Apartments and make a valuable contribution to the development of sports in Fiji. Click HERE for more information or call 3304280 for inquiries.



Thanks to the Worldwide Olympic Partners

We are members of......