Star striker joins Futsal campaign

ROY Krishna is the latest inclusion in the 20-member national Futsal squad for the upcoming 2010 Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) Futsal Championship.

The New Zealand-based player, who is in the country since the Inter District Championship (IDC) tournament last year, is expected to showcase his skills at the Vodafone Arena in Suva from August 8-14.

The national striker has never represented the country in Futsal and is looking at a glorious debut in the Oceania Championship. "I have been playing Futsal in the league competitions but have never played in the national side," Krishna said.

"I played in the national Futsal league competition here in Suva and that's where I assume the selectors show me."

Krishna, who will rejoin his Waitakere club in September, was not initially named in the side but later recalled to boost the nationals team's chances in this year's championship.

"There isn't much difference between 11-a-side soccer and Futsal. We need more speed and have to possess good skills to be a good Futsal player."

The national side has never won the OFC Futsal Championship and Krishna is hopeful of our chances this year.

"All players competing will want to win this championship. We got a good squad and we will do our best to win this year."

Team manager Krishneel Sharma said Krishna's inclusion had boosted the morale of the national side.

"We are glad about Roy's inclusion in the side. His presence will be a big boost to the national side in the upcoming championship."

Meanwhile, the national side marched into camp on Monday and Sharma was pleased with turn up of the players. "The players will be having two training sessions per day from Monday to Friday. They will be released for the weekends."

"Once we will trim the team to 15 members, then we will go into two weeks of training directly leading to the championship in August."

Sharma also confirmed the players will be given release to play for their respective district side in the National Football League competition.

Players: Beniamino Mateinaqara, Vikash Shiva Reddy, Dinesh Mudaliar, Sedrick Dutt, Siga Ali, Aisea Codro, Alvin Avinesh, Ratu Josefata Dugucagi, Simione Vesa, Kamal Hassan, Arvindra Naidu, Uraia Loki, Sandeep Nair, Osea Vakatalesau, Ajesh Narayan, Samuela Drudru, Emori Ragata, Joseph Mishra, Petero Dauniseka, Esava Naqeleca, Roy Krishna.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

2010 Fiji Sports Personality of the Year

Upcoming Events

Fiji Sports Awards Nomination
Deadline Extended: Nominations
Close Fri 04th Feb.Click here
download forms.

Are you looking for a Venue
to Hire for wedding,Birthday Party... 
Fiji Sports Council has
just what you need.

3312177 EXT 147

Our Sponsor

Our Facilities


"One million tree planting program by 2011 campaign"