Baba and Lomani Nominated for Cricket Europe's EAP Player of the Year Award

Two members of the Fiji Blues, Jo Baba and Sakarai Lomani, have been included in Cricket Europe's EAP Player of the Year competition after impressive performances throughout the year.

Cricket Europe has included 10 players from the EAP region in the voting, with a public vote to decide the eventual winner.

Jo Baba will look upon 2009 as a breakout year, with impressive performances at the EAP Cricket Trophy finally confirming the talent that many believed he possessed.

He was selected in the Twenty/20 and 50 Over Teams of the Tournament after ecelling with both bat and ball.  He became the first Fijian player to score a century in a T/20 international when he scored 103 against Indonesia. 

He averaged 58 in the t/20 tournament and 34 in the 50 over tournament, confirming his place as a vital cog in the blues machine.

Not surprisingly, he has been selected in the EAP team that will compete at the Australian Country Cricket Championships in Albury in January.

Lomani had an equally impressive EAP Cricket Trophy, being selected in the 50 Over Team of the Tournament after regularly taking top order wickets.  He finished the year as the Blues top wicket taker and rightfully earned his selection in the EAP team for the ACCC.

Voting for the EAP Player of the Year starts on December 18th on the Cricket Europe website.  To register your support for one of the Blues' players you can log on to the Cricket Europe website and have a vote.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.