SOLOMON GAMES 2016 All Star Line-Up

Solomon Islands Basketball has finally released its All Star team line-up from the recent 2016 Solomon Games basketball tournament hosted recently in Honiara.

Whilst this is an unofficial line-up (not endorsed by the Solomon Islands Basketball Federation[SIBF]), the final All Star team line up produced here have been selected based on the following three (3) main criteria’s:

Points scored per game (contribution to overall team points)

Game time (number of approx. minutes per game)

Impact as a player (contribution to team offense and defensive work rate)

There are two sets of teams for both the Men’s and Women’s division; The All Star First Team (Top 5 players) and the All Star Second Team (Second Top 5 players).

The line-up also includes Coach of the Tournament, Rookie of the Tournament and Most Valuable Player, for both divisions. The latter selections are based on individual overall performance throughout the entire tournament.


Men’s Division

ALL STAR (1st Team)

1.       Guard - Alex Ma’alisia (Western Province)

2.       Shooting Guard – Waige Turueke (Malaita Province)

3.       Small Forward – Brian Fatai (Malaita Province)

4.       Power Forward – Timmy Magi (Western Province)

5.       Centre – Allen Wanefai (Makira Province)

ALL STAR (2nd Team)

1.       Guard – Junior Gwali (Guadalcanal Province)

2.       Shooting Guard – Eric Meneses (Honiara)

3.       Small Forward – Chris Ora (Makira Province)

4.       Power Forward – Walton Panio (Renbel Province)

5.       Centre – Solomon Devesi (Guadalcanal Province)

Coach of Tournament – Brendan Pinau (Western Province)

Rookie of the Tournament – Pfendel Tingia (Choiseul Province)

Most Valuable Player – Waige Turueke (Malaita Province)


Women’s Division

ALL STAR (1st Team)

1.       Guard – Elsie Daiwo (Temotu Province)

2.       Shooting Guard – Ruth Sade (Guadalcanal Province)

3.       Small Forward – Rose Ma’ea (Choiseul Province)

4.       Power Forward – Calrose Gwali (Guadalcanal Province)

5.       Centre – Joycelyn Basia (Temotu Province)

ALL STAR (2nd Team)

1.       Guard – Natala Tepuke (Choiseul Province)

2.       Shooting Guard – Esther Ramote’a (Choiseul Province)

3.       Small Forward – Miriam Basia (Temotu Province)

4.       Power Forward – Mary Daffie (Temotu Province)

5.       Centre – Trixie Kaitu’u (Renbel Province)

Coach of Tournament – Augustine Basia (Temotu Province)

Rookie of the Tournament – Lysandra Wini (Guadalcanal Province)

Most Valuable Player – Joycelyn Basia (Temotu Province)

(*selections analysis-based)

Solomon Islands Basketball is an independent group and operates seperately from SIBF. Its establishment however is mainly to support and promote the sport of basketball, with an objective geared towards the technical areas of the sport.

Solomon Islands Basketball conitnues to works closely with SIBF, includin other stakeholders in moving forward the overall development aims and objectives of basketball as a major sport in the Solomons. 



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Notice Board

Photo Gallery

FIBA Oceania News