Cabrera wins pitching race; Reyes rules batting battle

Cabrera wins pitching race; Reyes rules batting battle

The St. Michael's Medical Response Angels' Manny Cabrera and John Reyes hung tough to top the pitching and batting races in the 2012 Saipan Major League.

Cabrera maintained a 0.40 Earned Run Average for three strong wins this year. He pitched 22.2 innings and only one of 13 runs scored on his watch was credited as earned.

Honorable mention goes out to Saipan Stevedore Yankees lefty Joshua Jones, who pitched three complete games (29IP) and dialed up 62 strikeouts at the start of the season before heading off to the mainland to play collegiate ball two months ago.

Tan Holdings Brewers' hurler Vince Cepeda and IT&E-Shell Fielders' Elton Santos tried their best to surpass Jones' mark, but the crown remained with the latter, as Cepeda finished with 58 and Santos retired 45.

Jones' 0.62 ERA earned him runner-up honors in the category, ahead of the Brewers' Thomas Camacho (0.81), Cepeda (0.84), Aces' Benwachi Taisacan (1.90), Angels' Franco Flores (2.25), Aces' Juan Iguel (2.34), and Angels' Thomas Joab (3.00).

In hitting, Reyes cracked 20 hits in 39 at bats for a 0.513 batting average. He chalked up 16 runs and 3 doubles and was the only player with at least 34 at bats to break 0.500.

IT&E-Shell's Anthony Tenorio (0.488) and Brewers' Byron Kaipat (4.86) came the closest to besting Reyes' effort, but fell just short. Tenorio swung 21-for-43 and earned a share in runs scored, triples, and doubles in the process. Tenorio and Yankees' Ben Jones Jr. scored 18 runs apiece this year and hit three triples, both league highs, and the former's five doubles tied Brewers' Roy Celis.

Kaipat went 18-for-37 and is the RBI champion, as his 16 RBIs stood tall over teammate Manny Sablan (12), Yankees' Chris Camacho (12), Aces' Nokki Saralu (11), and fellow Brewer Mike Pangelinan (10).

There were three home run kings this year, as Yankees' Tom Agulto and Jerome Delos Santos and IT&E-Shell's Brandon Santos all sent a ball over the fence.

Winners in the statistical race in the SML league were based on the players performance in the double-round robin regular season at the Francisco “Tan Ko” Palacios Ballfield.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.