Temarii elected new OFC president till 2006

Auckland, 20 March 2004: At the 18th OFC Ordinary Congress held today at the Stamford Plaza Hotel in Auckland, New Zealand, the election of a new OFC president and FIFA vice president took place.

The two candidates for the presidency were Mr Tautulu Roebeck of Samoa and Mr Reynald Temarii of Tahiti. The majority of the members voted in favour of Mr Temarii and he will now lead the confederation until 2006.

There were four candidates for the new post of FIFA vice president, representing the OFC, which replaces the former post of OFC delegate to the FIFA executive committee previously allocated by FIFA to the confederation. The candidates were Mr Johnny Tinsley-Lulu of Vanuatu, Mr Ron Harvey of Australia, Dr M.S Sahu Khan of Fiji and 'Ahongalu Fusimalohi of Tonga.
The delegates were informed prior to the vote that Mr Lulu had withdrawn his candidature. The resulting ballot saw Australian Ron Harvey elected as the new FIFA vice president-elect.

At the OFC executive committee meeting held afterwards, it was confirmed that the vacant post of OFC Treasurer would be filled by executive member, Mr Lee Harmon of the Cook Islands. Confirmation of other office bearers would be finalised at the next OFC executive meeting in April declared the new OFC president, Reynald Temarii.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.