Western Affiliates Cup 2017 - Wet and Wonderful!

4 Men’s sides and 5 Mixed sides from Bendigo, Ballarat, Mount Gambier, Portland and Warrnambool battled it out for Mens and Mixed Open titles, and an overall crown for the best afifliate of the tournament.

The morning’s pool matches were held in cool and damp conditions, and the 16 matches played saw Touche, an invitational team made up of VT League players, top the Men’s Division, with Bendigo and Mount Gambier separated by 1 touchdown atop of the Mixed Division.

The forecast wild weather arrived just in time for the men’s semifinals, which saw Touche defeat Warrnambool 8-2, and Ballarat defeat Bendigo in an incredibly tight contest, 1-0.

The mixed semi-finals then took the stage, with a sizable win to Bendigo over Warrnambool and Mount Gambier defeating Ballarat in another tight contest.

The weather deteriorated further just in time for the finals to begin, but Touch Footballers are a hardy bunch, and it takes more than a season’s worth of rain in a day to stop us from playing! The men’s final say Touche take on Ballarat. Despite a promising opening by the home town side, the visitors from Touche took out the title, 4-1.

The mixed final was the last match to be played on the day, and our interstate visitors from Mount Gambier prevailed over Bendigo, 5-2.

The overall Western Affiliate Cup shield, for the best affiliate on the day, was shared between Bendigo and Ballarat.

A big congratulations to all those played in unfavorable conditions, and to all our winners on the day. A massive thank you must go out to all referees who helped out on the day, in particular those who also played, a supreme effort given the conditions. Thank you also to Ballarat’s Tim Cromb and the rest of the organising committee, for sorting out the venue, the canteen and the tournament itself, many of whom were also players and referees.

Men’s Open

Winner: Touchè
Runner Up: Ballarat
3rd: Bendigo
4th: Warrnambool

Mixed Open

Winner: Mt Gambier
Runner Up: Bendigo
3rd: Ballarat
4th: Warrnambool
5th: Portland

Overall Championship

Joint Winners: Ballarat and Bendigo
3rd: Mount Gambier
4th: Warrnambool
5th: Portland


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

TFV Events

Member Offer - 50% Off

TFV 50%