Australian Trans Tasman Teams Announced

Touch Football Australia (TFA) is proud to announce its three Australian Open teams that will compete in the 2012 Trans Tasman Series against New Zealand in Mudgee later this month.

Australia’s Men’s, Women’s and Mixed Open teams have been announced today following a training camp in Sydney earlier this month.

16 players will debut for Australia at an Open level in the series which will be played at Mudgee’s Glen Willow Regional Sporting Complex from Thursday, 26 April to Saturday, 28 April 2012.

The three-test series sees the fierce rivals meet for the first time since the 2011 World Cup finals, which saw Australia narrowly defeat New Zealand in each of the three Open divisions.

The rivalry between the two nations is as fierce as ever following the reintroduction of the Trans Tasman Series three years ago, with the teams meeting annually since 2009. Australia took a clean sweep of the three divisions in the 2009 and 2010 Trans Tasman Series and will be hoping to continue its impressive record in Mudgee, while New Zealand is determined to reverse the result and cause an upset to the Australian teams in their own backyard.

To view the teams, please click on the attachment below.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Photo Gallery


Who do you think will win the 2015 Youth Trans Tasman Series?