2011 National Secondary Schools Basketball Championship

The 2011 Suva Secondary Schools Basketball Competition 7 weeks Home and Away League games have ended with schools now anticipating the annual National Secondary Schools Basketball Championship.

The National Secondary Schools Basketball Championship will be held at the Vodafone Arena in Suva from the 29th August – 1st September 2011.

In the U15 boys competition Marist Brothers’ High School team has been the inform team recording win’s over Suva Grammar, Yat Sen Secondary School, Gospel High School and Latter Day Saints College. Following the success of the MBHS U15 boys the school will be fielding a second team into the National Secondary Schools Basketball Championship.

Further to the schools success under the guidance of old scholar and Warriors Basketball Club player Tevita Ratuyadra the school is also looking to regain the U19 boys title in the upcoming National Secondary Schools Basketball Championship after recording 7 wins from 7 games in the Suva Secondary Schools Basketball League games. The Marist U19 boys’ team will have the service of National U20 representatives Mataika Koyamainavure, Isireli Vuetibau and John Kunau.

Adi Cakobau School U19 girls team are the current inform team heading into the National Secondary Schools Basketball Championship however the defending champion will face an uphill battle as they will be without the service of inspiration skipper Miliakere Koyamainavure who will be away helping the National Team defend the gold medal in the Pacific Games. Adi Cakobau School will face stiff competition from Latter Day Saints College which will see the return of former National U20 rep Grace Taito from injury and Western giants Natabua Secondary School.

In the U17 boys grades John Wesley School which consist of players who reside in the Raiwaqa area will be the inform team heading into the competition and should face stiff competition from Western giants Natabua Secondary School and defending champion Edupia Korean School in Nadi. This year’s U17 boy’s category will feature 12 teams in the annual event.

Saint Joseph Secondary School will feature strongly in the U17 girl’s category and will be hungry to engrave the schools name on the title after a lapse of 10 years.

In the U15 girls defending champion Natabua Secondary School will be the team to beat however will face an uphill battle against a much improved Suva based schools in the likes of Laucala Bay Secondary School, Yat Sen Secondary School, Suva Grammar School and Saint Joseph Secondary School.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


FIBA U18 Championships 2016