Interleague netballers do SEFNL proud

The South East Football Netball League (SEFNL) can hold its head high after a competitive day of netball against AFL Yarra Ranges at Holm Park Reserve.

The senior netballers showed great character to fight the game out against a strong opponent, losing 48-43, while the day started brightly for SEFNL with the 17-unders winning 30-21.

The senior game drifted away from SEFNL in the first quarter, where despite the efforts of Caitlin Cooke (GD) and Ebony Dolan (GK) in defence, and the hard work of Kaela Hughes (WD), Sara Duncan (C) and Britt Mashado (WA) through the midcourt, the visitors kicked out to a 13-8 lead.

SEFNL squared away the remainder of the match, 35-each, but that first quarter told the story in the end.

Mikaela Dakic, Alex Duff, Emma Jones, Bianca Sanzaro and Lauren Spinks all did SEFNL proud.

Sinead Lumsden top-scored for AFLYR with 22 goals, while Krista Tomlinson played a terrific role through the midcourt.

Matt Cooke and his girls had better luck in the junior game where SEFNL exploded out of the blocks to take a firm grip on proceedings at quarter time.

Through the great efforts of Lesila Seeto, Charlotte Petelinek, Abby Williams, Kacey Maund, Tahlia Coates, Mia Washington and Mel Webster, the home side had control of the contest with a 13-4 lead at the first break.

AFL Yarra Ranges fought the game out well but Yasmin Dickson, Emily Kerr and Teneille Morrell made sure there were no nasty surprises in the second half.



SEFNL                   8             19           29           (43)

AFLYR                   13           25           37           (48)

SEFNL Squad: Karen Meredith (Pakenham – Coach), Kaela Hughes (Beaconsfield - Captain), Caitlyn Cooke (Pakenham), Mikaela Dakic (Doveton), Ebony Dolan (Tooradin), Alexandra Duff (Tooradin), Sara Duncan (Tooradin), Emma Jones (Pakenham), Brittany Mashado (Narre Warren), Bianca Sanzaro (Beaconsfield), Lauren Spinks (Pakenham), Ashleigh Gill (Beaconsfield), Erin Clark (Narre Warren).


SEFNL                   13           21           27           (30)

AFLYR                   4             11           15           (21)

SEFNL Squad: Matt Cooke (Pakenham – Coach), Melissa Webster (Doveton – Captain), Kacey Maund (Narre Warren), Mia Washington (Pakenham), Abby Williams (ROC), Lesila Seeto (Doveton), Yasmin Dickson (Cranbourne), Tahlia Coates (Cranbourne), Emily Kerr (Beaconsfield), Teneille Morrell (Beaconsfield), Charlotte Petelinek ( (Beaconsfield), Olivia Catrucco (Narre Warren), Kaitlyn Jones (Pakenham), Julia Batchelor (Berwick).


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

SEFNL Partners



Club Links - Navbar

Choose a Club