Souths Logan and Aspley Celebrate Grand Final Wins

by QRL Media
Division 1 grand final wrap: Souths Logan Magpies v Burleigh Bears

RETIRING Souths Logan skipper Karyn Murphy capped off a year to remember, with her side claiming a strong 24-6 win over the Burleigh Bears in the Brisbane and District Women’s Rugby League Division 1 grand final on Sunday.

After holding aloft not only the Women’s All Stars trophy, the Nellie Doherty Cup for winning the Interstate Challenge against New South Wales for the 15th straight year and the World Cup for the first time – this grand final win saw her claim a rare “grand slam” as a captain.

The match itself at Pizzey Park was a high-quality match-up with the Bears matching a Magpies side featuring six Jillaroos representatives for much of the first half.

The Magpies scored three times in the first half with winger Kelly Hammant scoring a double and fullback Tracey Thompson benefiting from a good Ali Brigginshaw offload to score her four-pointer.

Goal kicking proved an issue and a try from one of Burleigh’s two Jillaroos players in Karina Brown – things remained tight with the Magpies taking a 12-6 lead into the break.

In the second half, the physical nature of the game was telling with Burleigh captain (and Jillaroos co-captain) Tahnee Norris being stretchered off mid-way through the half.

On the scoreboard, the Magpies were able to extend their lead through tries to player of the match Renae Kunst and a late try to Brigginshaw to seal the match and earn them their fifth straight title.

Joining Murphy in retirement from the Magpies was fellow Jillaroo Nat Dwyer who also had a long history of representing Queensland; while Millie Edwards and Tanya Osborne are also expected to hang up their boots.

Souths Logan Magpies 24 (Kelly Hammant 2, Tracey Thompson, Renae Kunst, Ali Brigginshaw; Ali Brigginshaw 2 goals) def Burleigh Bears 6 (Karina Brown try, Aleasha Brider goal) at Pizzey Park

Player of the Grand Final: Renae Kunst (Souths Logan Magpies)

Division 2 grand final wrap: Aspley v Carina

THE Aspley women came from behind to claim the first Brisbane and District Women’s Rugby League Division 2 title over a gallant Carina outfit yesterday afternoon at Pizzey Park.

In a physical first half where good pressure from both sides made scoring difficult; Carnia were the only side who were able to cross the line with fullback Kelley Hodges scoring the only try of the half.

Carina scored their second via T’Kayah Leong-Thompson who barged over to extend their score and a major boilover was on the cards.

However, pre-game favourites Aspley hit back with a try to Sera Tu to give her side their first points of the afternoon.

Carina though kept up their intensity and were in again soon after following some good work from a scrum via Jessica Gracie; bringing the score-line to 14-6 with 15 minutes left to play.

This sparked Aspley into action and they scored two quick tries – including a great team try finished by Shayla Yortson to level the scores at 14-14.

The successful conversion from Rakee Tagaloa saw them take the lead for the first time with six minutes left in match – holding on in the end to claim the victory.

Aspley 16 (Sera Tu, Lisa Ratana, Shayla Yorston tries; Rakee Tagaloa 2 goals) def Carina 14 (Kelley Hodges, Jessica Gracie, T’Kayah Leong-Thompson tries; Kelley Hodges goal) at Pizzey Park

Player of the Match: Asipau Mafi (Aspley)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

B&DWRL Sponsors

B&DWRL Notice Board

Rugby League News