2018 season

After the first four rounds of the season, whilst it is very early days to start making a call there's been some stunning results that highlights the fantastic competition structure we have.  The A-Grade has Barossa District going pretty strong with Willaston close by, and a bag of Clubs not far behind.  In the 2's, Nurioopta Rovers have come out of the blocks flying with Tanunda hot on their heels.  South Gawler are undefeated in the Senior Colts as are Willaston in the Junior Colts.  


With the BLGW, Angaston are going great guns in all three grades but they have plenty of tight competition and the teams all look pretty strong.  If you haven't had a chance to get out on a Sunday to watch the girls play then get in quick as the season ends on June 3 at Nuriootpa for the Grand Finals.  It's a great day with a carnival atmosphere so don't miss your chance to experience it.  


The Association is now gearing up for the upcoming representative games so put these dates in your diary;

Sunday May 27th - Central Zone Under 15 boys Carnival at Two Wells

Sunday 17th June - Central Zone Under 14/17 Girls Carnival at Snowtown

Sat/Sun July 7th & 8th - SACFL Zone Championships at Renmark

Saturday 7th July - U13, U15, U18 BLGFA vs RFL Interleague games at Willaston Oval

Sunday 5th August - Central Zone Under 14 boys Carnival at Burra



2017 Grand final results

Congratulations to last year's premier Barossa District for becoming 2017 A-Grade premiers, claiming their 3rd back to back premiership in the last 11 years beating Kapunda.   Coming from 10 points behind into the last quarter, they held Kapunda to 1 point whilst they kicked 3 goals 6 points to take the game by 13 points - 9.15-69 to Kapunda 8.8-56.  Well done to Todd Miles for making it an easy decision for voters to select him as the best on ground, Hurn Medallist.  


Hurn Family medallist - Todd Miles


The reserves game saw Angaston become premiers for the first time in their 138 year after their victory over Tanunda in a low scoring affair.  Angaston took the lead in the first quarter and never looked back, winning by 23 points - 7.3-45 to 3.4-22.  Well done to Jayden Antonie for taking the John Leske Best on Ground medal.  


John Leske medallist - Jayden Antonie 


The senior colts game saw the tipster's favourite, Willaston succumb to Nuriootpa Rover with some oustanding goal kicking from the Nuriootpa full forward Mitch Norton, kicking 10 of his team's 13 goals.  Despite a 3rd quarter fight back by Willaston, Nuriootpa had done enough and ended up 30 point winners 13.7-85 to Willaston 9.1-55.  With Mitch's outstanding performance he was the deserved winner of the Dean Tobitt Medal.  


Dean Tobitt medallist - Mitch Norton


The Junior Colts Grand Final was equally surprising with the much fancied Nuriootpa Rovers going down to Willaston.  They say that Finals Games are a different animal, but many would have been forgiven for fully expecting Nuriootpa to continue their winning way, as up until the Grand Final they hadn't lost a game in 2 years.  Another low-scoring game, and after being level at half time, Willaston's big guns, Saxon Evans and Max Fraser helped their team take control in the third quarter.  Although Nuriootpa outscored Willaston in the last quarter, Willaston had done enough and came out 15 point winners 6.8-44 to 3.11-29.  A great performance from Corey Smith saw him take out the Colin Mickan medal.

 Colin Mickan medallist - Corey Smith




Congratulations Charlie Molyneux - GCFC

2017 Schluter Medal Winner &
Mail Medal Recipient
(21 votes)




Congratulations to the following award winners for the 2017 season

Goal Kicking;
Junior Colts - Sam Falland (NRFC) - 42 goals
Senior Colts - Tom Falkenberg (TFC) - 62 goals
Reserves - Wes Farley (KFC) - 41 goals
A-Grade - Josh Trembath (TFC) - 68 goals

Elite Marking - "Rookie of the Year"
Tyrell Hocking (KFC)

Barossa Co-Op - "Senior Colts Footballer of the Year"
Dylan Tuckwell (AFC)

Peter Vivian Financial Services - "Coaches Player of the Year"
Charlie Molyneux (GCFC)

BLGUA - "Golden Whistle Award"
Jim Goode

CDFC & Ian Curren's - "Champion Club"
Barossa District Football Club

CDFC - "Junior Coach of the Year"
Anthony Connelly - SGFC Senior Colts Coach

John Dawkins' - "Most Consistent Player"
Liam Ellis - TFC - Polled in 12 of a possible 16 games

JUNIOR COLTS - Liam Ellis - TFC (33 votes)

SENIOR COLTS - Dylan Tuckwell - AFC (20 votes)

Brayden Dalby - AFC (11 votes)
Craig Wilson - BDFC (11 votes)




A short but very successful season for our Female Football competition culminated with a Grand Final Carnival involving the top 6 clubs in each grade. The games took place at Nuri Oval on Sunday 20th August. 

The premiership game for the Under 14's was between Angaston and Kapunda with Kapunda taking the chocolates.  

The Under 17 premiership was won by Barossa District, 3 goal winners over their Angaston opponents.  

The BL&GFA are extremely grateful to major sponsors, the Barossa Co-Op for their contribution and involvement with the competition.  The Co-Op have been massive contributors to community sport and to have them with us on this venture is extremely exciting for us.  We also thank the Herald for their assistance and promotion of the competition.


Well done to all involved with a special mention to Female Football Committee Chairperson, Natalie Seaman and Junior Football Officer Wayne Sheahan and the rest of the committee for all their work in the establishment of this flagship regional initiative. 














BL&GFA Support Sponsors

Club Links - Navbar