Ruling on APS participation in ADF Sports

Below is the recent notification on the cessation of APS personnel's participation in Defence Sport:
 
---------------------------------------------------------------------
 
The Defence Civilian Committee convened on the 25 March 2014 during which APS participation in ADF sports was tabled as an agenda item.
 
The DCC comprises of all the civilian Group Heads with the VCDF in attendance on behalf of each of the three services.  The DCC is a key forum for which the Secretary of Defence looks at issues effecting Defence APS members.
 
At this meeting the DCC agreed that APS may participate in local level ADF sport in their own time, but not regional, state, national or international ADF sports events, and that APS were not to participate or represent a Service or Defence in sports events in any location 
 
Please note that the term "Participation" in this context includes both active participation in the sport, and in administrative support roles. ADF sport is strictly for uniformed ADF members.
 
The DCC decision reflects the employment conditions for APS employees.  The DCC noted that some APS members may still elect to pursue an active lifestyle which can be addressed and managed IAW the Defence Enterprise Collective Agreement (DECA 2012-2014). 
 
In light of the DCC direction, all associations must now ensure that existing APS members are advised that they are no longer permitted to participate IAW the DCC outcome above.  
 
NOTE:  Unfortunately this is the final ruling on APS participation and the ADFSC will not make exception or deviate from this direction.
 
DI (G) PERS 14-2 is currently being reshaped to include these changes. The revised DI will provide clear policy guidance on the conduct of ADF sport. A DEFGRAM providing formal advise to this email has been promulgated and sent to the Secretary for Defence - Mr Dennis Richardson for his signature.
 
-------------------------------------------
 
Any queries with regards to this notification should be directed in the first instance to your relevant State Representative. Alternatively, contact adba.basketball@gmail.com and your correspondence will be forwarded to the appropriate contact.
 



Comments

Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

ADFBA Notice Board

2017 

ADFBA National Championships
RAAF Base Edinburgh SA

 01 - 10 Dec 17

 

ACT/Wagga Interservice Competition 

 29 - 30 Jul 17 

ADFA Gym

Point of Contact

ACT State Rep: PO Kristie Cotton kristie.cotton@defence.gov.au

 

Victorian Interservice

26 – 27 AUG 17

RAAF Base Williams (Laverton)

OIC MAJ Nick Munday nicholas.munday@defence.gov.au  (03) 9256 2146
 
State Rep Male SGT Leon Wynne   leon.wynne@defence.gov.au (03) 9282 7036
 
State Rep Female CPL Michelle Joy michelle.joy@defence.gov.au (03) 9358 1298

New South Wales Interservice

The NSW Defence Force Basketball Interservice Competition will be held over the weekend

01 - 03 Sep 17

Holsworthy gym.

CONTACTS

Navy–   AB Samuel Chiswell Samuel.chiswell@defence.gov.au  

 AB Lara Pilton lara.pilton@defence.gov.au

Army – SGT Brett Elleman brett.elleman@defence.gov.au

CPL Samir Balmer Samir.balmer@defence.gov.au

RAAF Richmond –  CPL Kevin O’Sullivan kevin.osullivan3@defence.gov.au

               LAC Adrian Duran Adrian.duran@defence.gov.au

RAAF Williamtown – PLTOFF Richard Van Der Snoek Richard.vandersnoek@defence.gov.au

 

South Australian Interservice

08 – 09  SEP 16

RAAF Base Edinburgh

RAN        TBC

ARA        TBC

RAAF      SGT Matthew Muller matthew.muller2@defence.gov.au

 

QLD North vs South Competition

Selection Trials for the  2017  ADF QLD Men’s and Women’s teams will conducted on the weekend of 05 - 06 Aug 17 at Gallipoli Barrakcs, Enoggera.

OIC QDB: SGT Daniel Silvester: daniel.silvester@defence.gov.au

 

Northern Territory

Defence Establishment Berrimah

3 Training Sessions will be held over 3 weekends in Aug for selection trials

Sunday 13 Aug

Sunday 27 Aug

Tues    27 Aug

For further information contact the personal listed below

CONTACTS

OIC:  CAPT Sita Norsworthy,  sita.rodger@defence.gov.au, (08) 8925 6489 

State Rep: SGT Dale Blog, dale.blogg@defence.gov.au, (08) 8925 1046

Men’s Head Coach: Vacant 

Training Venue: Defence Establishment Berrimah

 

Western Australia Interservice

20 OCT 17

HMAS Stirling

POC

LEUT Brad Eaton brad.easton@defence.gov.au         

 


Email your State Rep for Interservice Dates in your State

New South Wales Defence Basketball (NSWDB)
NSW OIC, FLGOFF Melissa Miller melissa.miller@defence.gov.au
NSW Representative, CPL Sammy Balmer samir.balmer@defence.gov.au

Queensland Defence Basketball (QDB) 
OIC QDB: SGT Daniel Silvester: daniel.silvester@defence.gov.au


Victorian Defence Basketball (VDB)
Vic OIC, MAJ Nicholas Munday nicholas.munday@defence.gov.au


Australian Capital Territory & Wagga Defence Basketball (ACT/WAGGA DB)
ACT/Wagga OIC, LCDR Scott Northey scott.northey@defence.gov.au
ACT Representative, PO Kristie Cotton Kristie.cotton@defence.gov.au

Northern Territory Defence Basketball (NTDB)
NT OIC, CAPT Sita Norsworthy,  sita.norsworthy@defence.gov.au,
NT Representative, SGT Dale Blogg, dale.blogg@defence.gov.au,

South Australian Defence Basketball (SADB) www.sadb.basketball.net.au  
SA OIC, LT Rob Cameron robert.cameron6@defence.gov.au
SA Representative, SGT Matthew Muller mattew.muller2@defence.gov.au

Western Australian Defence Basketball (WADB)
WA OIC, LEUT Brad Eaton brad.eaton@defence.gov.au