Home Page


Wednesday 22nd November 2017

7.30pm at Morwell RSL


A massive crowd turned out to watch the Mid Gippsland Football League Grand Final games at Morwell on Saturday.

This is only the third time that Yinnar and Mirboo North have played against each other in a Grand Final. On the previous occasion, in 2007, Mirboo North took the flag in a game that went down to a few points.

It was a high-pressure game and both teams started off nervous and playing defensive football.  A very low scoring first quarter with Mirboo North managing the only goal on the scoreboard to lead Yinnar 1.4.10 to 0.1.1. The second term produced a few goals and opportunities for both teams and it looked like Yinnar had turned up the heat to get back in front by seven points. Mirboo North continued the pressure in the third quarter to kick another two goals and kept the Magpies to a goalless quarter, to get back in front by five points. With everything still to play for and both teams feeling the pressure of the Grand Final, Yinnar kicked an early goal in the final quarter to get back in front by one point. Ten minutes in, Mirboo North had been given no opportunities to get in front of the goal and very few scoring opportunities for Yinnar. The Tigers got a rare break through the Magpies defences but nothing came of it and a point to put them back level. More opportunities at goal for Mirboo North with only two points to be added to the score to put them in front, then a last spurt by Yinnar gave them a possible shot at goal but it’s too late. The horn sounds and Mirboo North take the win 5.12 42 to 5.10.40.

Mirboo North Football Netball Club President, Paul Pratt, said it was very stressful to watch with the game being closely contested as have the other two previous Grand Final games against Yinnar. “I am absolutely thrilled with the result and pleased for the guys who have worked very hard towards the end of the season. Clancey’s message all season has been to tackle hard and work together as a team and throughout this final series we’ve kept the pressure on the opposition and we’ve perhaps not let the opposition play the game they have wanted to play. All credit to Yinnar today, they kept the pressure on us too with nothing between the two sides, the tackling was ferocious and we just kept chipping away and came away with the result.”

Yinnar Football & Netball Club President, Peter Linton, said: “The boys are absolutely shattered by the loss but as the Club President I couldn’t be more proud of them. They tried their hardest and did the town proud. Mirboo North were just too good for us on the day.”

Reserves – Yinnar v YYN

Yinnar dominated over Yallourn/Yallourn North, keeping the Bombers goalless and pointless in the first term to lead by 33 points. Yinnar held their lead in the next three quarters and Yallourn/Yallourn North to come back from Yinnar’s early lead. Yinnar took the win 11.6.72 to YYN 6.8.44.

Thirds – Newborough v Trafalgar

In a low scoring game Newborough led at the end of all four quarters against Trafalgar who fought hard against the Bulldogs but struggled to make up the points after Newborough took the early lead in the first quarter. Newborough took the victory 6.3.39 to 4.5.29.

Fourths – Yinnar v Hill End

Hill End dominated in the first half of their Grand Final game with Yinnar to lead 7.2.44 to 2.5.17. Both teams failed to score any goals in the third term and only managed one point a piece. Yinnar made a strong come back in the final quarter and held Hill End off against scoring but the early lead by the Hill’s men was too much for Yinnar to come back from. Hill End won the Grand Final 7.3.45 to 5.9.39.


The meeting on 13th September 2017 has been cancelled.

The next Directors meeting will be held on Wednesday 11th October in the Morwell RSL Boardroom, commencing at 7.30pm.


  Follow the league on facebook - https://www.facebook.com/Mid-Gippsland-Football-League-340563586147228/?fref=ts


Major Sponsor Information


2017 Seniors
1 Yallourn/Yallourn North 60
2 Thorpdale 52
3 Yinnar 48
4 Mirboo North 44
5 Newborough 44
6 Trafalgar 44
7 Morwell East 40
8 Hill End 20
9 Yarragon 8
10 Boolarra 0