Junior Football and Netball Vote Count and Presentation Day.

On Sunday 28th August at Invermay Hall the Lexton Plains Football League & Netball Association hosted the League’s Junior Football and Netball Vote Count and Presentation Day. Over 250 players, parents and League Officials attended the Best and Fairest Count which provided five very deserving winners.

In the Under 13 Netball Best and Fairest, Ararat Eagles FNC Player Breanna Toomey won by 2 votes in a very tense count. Runners up were Paula Fraser from Skipton & Ripley Hill from Rokewood Corindhap.

Breanna Toomey                      Ararat Eagles       21

Paula Fraser                               Skipton                 19

Ripley Hill                                   R’wood C’hap       19

Emily Gay                                   C’ham Linton        18

Sarah Thorne                              Lexton                  17

Abbey Driscoll                             Ararat Eagles       15

Chloe Dunmore                          Ararat Eagles        13

Harriett Slorach                          Navarre                 13

In the Under 14 Football Count, Billy Parry from Navarre took out the top honor polling 32 votes in a terrific performance. Billy has had an outstanding season where he has also played some Under 17 Football for Navarre, and done very well in that age group also. Billy also starred in the LPFL’s Under 14 Representative side. Billy came second in this award last year so he is a well deserved winner. Wayne Bruty from Skipton and Tom Taurau from Ararat Eagles were equal second and both players had excellent seasons also.

          Billy Parry                      Navarre                      32

          Wayne Bruty                   Skipton                         25

          Tom Taurau                    Ararat Eagles               25

          Liam Laffin                      R’wood C’hap               23

          Brad McDonald               C’ham Linton                19

          Travis Richardson          Illabarook                      15

The Under 15 Netball count was won by Taylor Mason from Natte Bealiba.  Taylor polled 33 votes for the season, 6 clear of second played Darcy Newitt of Illabarook. Taylor is a super consistent player who performs week in week out. Both Taylor and Darcy have very bright futures ahead of them and they are to be congratulated on their outstanding seasons.

          Taylor Mason                   Natte Bealiba            33

          Darcy Newitt                      Illabarook                   27

          Heather Tweedle               Lexton                        24

          Samantha Tardrew            R’wood C’hap            20

          Katelyn Driscoll                  Ararat Eagles            17

          Dakota Grenfell                 C’ham Linton             15

         Carly Murphy                     Navarre                     15

The Under 17 Netball count was a very tight count right the way through, with the lead changing many times over the last few rounds between Jenna Monaghan and Belinda Fraser. In the end, Jenna managed to poll very well late in the count which saw her win by 3 votes in the end. Both girls should be congratulated on their excellent seasons.

          Jenna Monaghan       Navarre                  28

          Belinda Fraser             Skipton                    25

          Jaime Palmer               C’ham Linton          23

          Mollie Hamilton            Ararat Eagles          21

          Holly Beavis                 Natte Bealiba          21

          Jasmine Dawson         C’ham Linton          15

The Graeme Sandlandt Trophy which is awarded for the Best & Fairest in the Under 17 Football competition was a very close count right the way through voting, with Jesse Hannett from Navarre taking out the award with 29 votes. Ben Watson was second from the Rokewood Corindhap FNC. Both players have dominated at Under 17 level so far this season and their respective clubs will be excited to see their progress over the coming years. I’m sure both will be outstanding footballers for their senior clubs and who knows how far both could go! Well done boys.

          Jesse Hannett       Navarre                      29

          Ben Watson           R’wood C’hap               25

          Brandon Mason     Natte Bealiba                18

          Joshua White         C’ham Linton                16

          Kane Gleeson        R’wood C’hap               11

In addition to the Best and Fairest winners the LPFLNA presented Goal kicking awards to Skipton’s Neville Fraser who kicked 37 goals in the Home and Away season in the Under 14 competition while Rokewood Corindhap’s Jonathan Willey booted 43 goals in the Under 17’s to win the Goal kicking award.

For any further queries, please contact myself on 0408 518 908.



Liam Brady

Operations Manager

Lexton Plains Football League & Netball Association

Ph:                   (03) 5333 1977
M:                    0408 518 908
F:                     (03) 5333 3408
E-mail:             liam@ballaratfl.com.au

Website:          www.lpfl.vcfl.com.au


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

2010 LPFNL Sponsors


Which team will be the most improved in the 2010 Regional One LPFLNA Senior Football Premiership season?